THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Starbucks Caramel Macchiato copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Starbucks Caramel Macchiato

Back to product details

Score: 4.00. Votes: 26
 
Score: 4.00. Votes: 26
Rating of votes (26)
5
 
 
14 customers
4
 
 
6 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
2 customers
1
 
 
3 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 26, per page
Sbux guy
Feb 4, 2007, 22:00

The ingredients are correct however, this is not the way you make a carmel macchiato. First: add your vanilla syrup in to the cup then, add your steamed milk up to about 3/4 of the cup, then, add a just about rest of cup with foam (which will be tough to do unless you have an espresso machine, you could always blow bubbles in the milk) after that add the espresso then top with carmel syrup. That's the official way to make a Carmel Macchiato!

Shawn
Nov 10, 2006, 22:00

I found this recipe after buying a Jura Capresso F7 for $1300. My wife and I were very disappointed that our drinks didn't taste very good. So we searched online and found this recipe. After reading all the comments I was skeptical. Some people said it was just like the Starbucks drink; and some ex-Starbucks baristas said it doesn't compare. My experience was that this recipe worked P-E-R-F-E-C-T-L-Y. I couldn't be happier with the taste. It truly tastes just like the Starbucks version. Here's what I did: - Put Stabucks vanilla syrup (actually purchased at Starbucks) in milk. - Used the Capressa wand to steam the milk (with vanilla) for 30 seconds; I then frothed the milk for 90 more seconds (so it was hot!) - I brewed espresso on the "strong" setting directly into the milk - I put the caramel on top - I STIRRED it all together until it was a nice light brown / caramel look. It still had plenty of crema after stirring and it TASTED PERFECT! We're SO HAPPY! THANK YOU for the recipe!

Julia
Aug 15, 2006, 22:00

Tried this recipe with the TSR espresso tip and since I like starbuck's macciato with sugar I doubled the vanilla syrup. I also pored the espresso on top of the foamed milk. This recipe is awesome!

Ex Starbucks Employee
Jul 8, 2006, 22:00

I havn't tried this yet but i used to work at starbucks and i don't know where this "ex starbucks manager" worked but the shot of espresso goes on top of the milk.. its the only drink at starbucks where they do this all the others the shot goes on the bottom.. but not on the caramel macchiato

Timothy
May 19, 2006, 22:00

AMAZING...tastes just like Starbucks. Although I had to make it a few times before getting it down just right.

Heidi
Mar 31, 2006, 22:00

Ooooooo.....my pocketbook is going to love me! I think this recipe just saved me about $100 a month! I do have to admit that I adjusted it just a bit, though. Instead of making the vanilla syrup, I just added 1/2 packet of Splenda and 1/8 tsp of vanilla and wasn't a bit sorry!

Good to the Last Drop
Mar 11, 2006, 22:00

I tried this recipe and it was great. If you want to emulate Starbucks you need to have the right ingredients. I used their syrup and carmel sauce but still don't think it is necessary. As others have said you don't stir a macchiato. Syrup first then steamed milk, then pour the shots over the steam milk. I roast my own coffee because I want to ensure the freshness and like different blends. However, to get close to Starbucks you need a dark roasted blend. Lastly it is important to save the froth from the steamed milk and add after you have added your shots of coffee. The froth will heed the carmel from sinking to fast into the drink. Also if you buy the carmel from Starbucks the opening is too big as it lays down thicker lines of carmel and also tends to sink to fast. You want thin lines of carmel layreed over the froth so it siniks slowly into the cup.

Val
Feb 1, 2006, 22:00

Who cares if you stir it or not? I prefer mine iced with whipped cream ... umm hmmm.

Momma Barista
Jan 28, 2006, 22:00

Great! I love this I put carmel in the bottom, stir and then mark the milk -- yummy. My favorite caramel is Torani.

CMlover4yrs
Jan 18, 2006, 22:00

I think this is great. I have made the same recipe at home on my machine using the Starbucks method and it was fabulous and I still pick one up when I'm out sometimes to enjoy someone else making it! Starbucks is great (Or Daily Grind in Virginia) which they add an orange flavoring to their version) but, sometimes you're sitting at home and just crave a CM. So it's especially nice when you live in a rural area to just fix your own. Thanks for the recipe!

Items: 110 of 26, per page