THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Maid-Rite Loose Meat Sandwich

Back to product details

Score: 4.38. Votes: 53
 
Score: 4.38. Votes: 53
Rating of votes (53)
5
 
 
34 customers
4
 
 
9 customers
3
 
 
7 customers
2
 
 
2 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 2130 of 53, per page
Pat
Sep 20, 2005, 22:00

Recipe perfect as is, but addition of dehydrated onions is good. My sister has experimented w/this, and, like a previous reviewer, uses a crock pot to make her loosemeat. You do have to mash the meat a bit in the beginning, but once done, the crock pot steams it perfectly. My sister & I make a large double/triple batch in the crock pot, eat some for dinner, freeze the rest for another quick meal. Freezes & defrosts well, tastes great reheated. We've tried both 80% & 88% ground beef, both good. We've also done a combo of 1/2 grd beef, 1/2 grd turkey. Also made this w/just all ground turkey. You may need a little bit more broth, but taste is quite good for a lower fat version.

Sherry Joyce
Sep 19, 2005, 22:00

I loved this recipe because you and your guests can pick their favorite toppings. I made it according to directions except I kept thinking what is this coke syrup they keep insisting is in the recipe? The only thing that would pour out of a bottle that looked like coke syrup would be Kitchen Bouquet. My mother told me about it when I got married. It is great for rubbing on the roast for a rich dark color and flavor. So I poured a few tablespoons in the ground beef as I was just about done frying it up. Sure enough it gave it a rich brown color and flavor. Could that be the syrup that was being poured in the mix at the restaurant?

Sue H
Sep 19, 2005, 22:00

Just about perfect. Lived in Iowa for years & missed these.

Mary
Sep 17, 2005, 22:00

WELL, this sandwich orginated in Wichita, KS, and, as I have known one of the original owners (who has now passed on) I am familiar with the cooking process. It is pressure cooked, and you DO NOT use lean meat. It MUST have original mustard (like yellow French's), fried chopped onions, and dill pickle slices. And Kathy, of Sept. 15th...you OBVIOUSLY have not had the samdwich. You have missed a real treat. We have people come back to Wichita, that have moved away, and the first thing most of them want is a NU-WAY.

Wanda
Sep 17, 2005, 22:00

This is a very tasteful sandwich the only thing I did different was put my meat between waxed paper froze it for 1 hour then cut it in squares cooked it with grilled onions and added cheese slices put the buns ontop the meat to steam and ate them...delicious this is a winner recipe...

DaniMyst
Sep 17, 2005, 22:00

It is VERY close! I grew up in the midwest and worked for a Maid-Rite all through high school for spending money. Since I moved to Texas I realized how much I missed them and when i saw this I had to try it! It's closer than anything else I've tried! Thanks LOADS!

Debbie
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

This was my all time favorite when I went to visit my Uncle - his special twist was instead of the water/broth he would use a can of beer and a couple of teaspoons of sugar and a few good shakes of pepper - after cooking he would place the buns on the "splatter screen" over the meat to steam them then add the mustard and pickles - it is so good - either way - your choice!! If you don't have a potato masher, I use a pastry blender to get my meat real fine (works good on tuna fish and chunk chicken too!!)

Joni Sanderson
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

I was really excited to see this recipe, I live in Beaman Iowa (all my life) only 15 miles north of Marshalltown, so when I read your recipe and story to go with it, I had to write. I am the Foodservice Director for our school district and we have been making "maid-rites" for years, only I can't print in the menu "maid-rites" we have to use the word beefburgers. Into a large kettle run by steam, we break up 100lbs of ground beef, as fine as we can get it, into hot water add 1 cup of salt and then boil the heck out of it, for about an hour and a half, stirring and breaking up with a large wire whip every 10 to 15 minutes. Thanks for running this recipe!

Lisa
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

I've never had an original, but this recipe intrigued me, so I prepared it, and it was very delicious!

Patti
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

I'm Iowa born and raised...I'm 60 years old and I've eaten a lot of Maid Rites.. I've made them at home for years too...I always mixed mustard and ketchup in the mixture and they taste just like the real thing to all of us...I'm real surprised to NOT find ketchup in the recipe. But I'll try it...If it's not as good as mine...I'll start selling mine as "Made Wrongs"

Items: 2130 of 53, per page