THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Lone Star Steakhouse Baked Sweet Potato copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Lone Star Steakhouse Baked Sweet Potato

Back to product details

Score: 4.55. Votes: 11
 
Score: 4.55. Votes: 11
Rating of votes (11)
5
 
 
9 customers
4
 
 
1 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 11, per page
Karen Ury
Feb 7, 2013, 22:00

I've had this potato numerous times at Lone Star, and this recipe tastes just like it. Great with a thick charred pork chop and some good bread.

K Hinkle
Oct 14, 2006, 22:00

I've used this one a hundred times - an always the guests love them!

Bettye VanderVeen
Feb 12, 2006, 22:00

I am afraid that you have misdefined sweet potatoes and yams. ABOUT SWEET POTATOES AND YAMS Sweet potatoes and yams are unrelated, although both are roots of a vine. Sweet potatoes are members of the morning glory family, while yams are members of the lily family. Yams can grow up to seven feet long. More than 30 years ago, dark-skinned sweet potatoes with sweet bright-orange flesh were introduced into the U.S. To distinguish them from the more traditional tan-skinned variety of sweet potato with less-sweet light colored flesh, the African word "nyami" referring to an edible root, was adopted in its English form "yam" and given to those dark-skinned sweet potatoes. Common usage has made the term acceptable; however, the U.S. Department of Agriculture requires that the label "yam" always be accompanied by "sweet potato".

Vickie Ca.
Jan 13, 2006, 22:00

I have to agree with everyone here these are GREAT!I used foil like cooking a baked potato seemed to cook faster. Also I used (brown sugar) with butter for the topping ingredients and I have to tell they were Yummy! Good comfort food for the winter!! Thanks :)

Bill Preston
Jan 7, 2006, 22:00

Instead of sugar I use "agave nectar". You can order this by going to: www.molinoreal.com This is especially good for those having problems with high sugar. This delicious nectar is great used on sweet potatoes to hot cakes.

CHARLOTTE
Dec 27, 2005, 22:00

BEING A DIABETIC, I WOULD SUBSTITUTE THE SUGAR FOR SPLENDA. THANKS FOR ANOTHER WAY TO EAT SWEET POTATOES! I LOVE THEM BAKED, WITH JUST PLAIN BUTTER, SO THIS IS A WONDERFUL VARIATION! I HATE THAT SWEET POTATO STUFF BAKED IN SYRUP AND MARSHMALLOWS, THEY ARE WAYYYY TOO HIGH IN SUGAR CONTENT! I THINK I'D MAYBE ADD A TOUCH OF NUTMEG TO IT TOO, AND BLEND THE SPICE MIXTURE INTO THE BUTTER, BUT THEN I AM A NUTMEG NUT TOO! LOL. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE, IT IS GREAT!

Nov 25, 2005, 22:00

yes yes yes this is really the best. It was the next best thing as to truly being at the restaurant. A perfect 10........

Deborah L. Madden
Oct 24, 2005, 22:00

I think this is great! You have answered a question which has puzzled me for a long time..the difference between a Sweet Potato and a Yam...Thanks for clearing this up for me and for the great secret tip...I have always enjoyed eating these delicious potatoes at Lone Star.

TILLIE SUESSE
Oct 17, 2005, 22:00

My husband loves this recipe. We have had the sweet potatoes at Lone Star and could not tell the difference in the ones I made at home.

Crystal
Oct 9, 2005, 22:00

If you don't care about the calories, add a dollop of marshmallow fluff (creme) and toast it a little. It's like an individual serving of the popular Thanksgiving sweet potato cassarole. Yum!

Items: 110 of 11, per page