THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Hostess Twinkie copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Hostess Twinkie

Back to product details

Score: 4.30. Votes: 27
 
Score: 4.30. Votes: 27
Rating of votes (27)
5
 
 
21 customers
4
 
 
1 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
2 customers
1
 
 
3 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 27, per page
Maria
Apr 4, 2015, 22:00

PERFECT! Seriously if you think this recipe is not exactly like a store bought Twinkie then you have made it wrong. Mine turned out so soft and spongey and delicious just like a Twinkie should be. This recipe makes a real Hostess Twinkie. Amazing!!!! I have some store bought twinkies at home and after making these my kids and I compared them and we could barely tell the difference. I love this recipe. I make it all the time now. The Kids get twinkies everyday for school. I also made a choc chip version.

Sandralee
Mar 20, 2015, 22:00

These are excellent! Note: if you are using a Wilton Twinkie pan, bake for 12 1/2 min. Baking for 30 min turns out very dry. And I found that if you whip the egg whites too long, also adds to dryness. Have made these a number of times and everyone loves them!

Kathy
Feb 20, 2015, 22:00

It wasn't the light cake like that of a Twinkie. Sorry guys but this just didn't do it for me.

Gaje Becker
Jan 20, 2014, 22:00

this is so easy to make and yet so good

Peter Henderson
Sep 15, 2013, 22:00

This recipe was very easy to follow, quick to make. The filling was exceptionally good. The only two problems I encountered were my fault. I used store brand pound cake mix, the next time I will use store brand. Also, when trying to pipe in the filling, I used too small a tip and the bag split, as it was too thick. However, those were "user error" incidents and didn't take away from the enjoyment. Excellent.

Julia
Jul 22, 2013, 22:00

This recipe is TERRIBLE, Wilber! How could someone mislead so many Twinkies' fun. I toke my time and gave careful attention to get the recipe exactly as instructions indicate. Turned out very hard and tasted like a dang fortune cookie stuffed with shortening. Filling tasted mainly like a glob of shortening. WHAT A WASTE OF TIME, MONEY, AND DIRTY KITCHEN TO CLEAN IN GRIEF. I fell for it because Good Morning America endorsed it. They're so full of it. That's my gossip about them.

Jonnel
Jun 24, 2013, 22:00

DELICIOUS, although i did add more powdered sugar to the frosting

Jodi
Jun 16, 2013, 22:00

These were so good! The first day they were yummy but the second day....WOW! They softened up even more and were just like the real thing. I also made them as mini muffins and cooked them for 20 min. They were the perfect bite size snack!

Julie
Apr 17, 2013, 22:00

Doesn't taste at all like a Twinkie. We received this as a gift from some friends after my husband made a big deal about Twinkies not being sold in stores anymore. I am going to try an angel food cake mix and some spray whipped cream instead.

Pam
Mar 3, 2013, 22:00

Taste nothing like a twinkie! Why the reciepe calls for pound cake when a twinkie is a sponge cake is beyond me and the filling is just ok! Save your money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Items: 110 of 27, per page