THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Bisquick Original All-Purpose Baking Mix copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Bisquick Original All-Purpose Baking Mix

Back to product details

Score: 4.33. Votes: 9
 
Score: 4.33. Votes: 9
Rating of votes (9)
5
 
 
6 customers
4
 
 
2 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 19 of 9, per page
David Sweedler
Oct 9, 2018, 12:56

If you leave out the shortening until right before use, the so called self rising flour will last a long time. Pancakes and waffles are just fine with all vegetable oil instead of solid shortening. For pastry and pie crusts, yo can add the Crisco, other solid shortening or chilled butter and cut it in for best texture before rolling it out. If you live in humid country or your kitchen tends to be humid, keep the baking powder and Bisquick mixture tightly sealed at all times before use. Moisture wrecks the baking powder performnace over time.

roger w
Apr 15, 2015, 22:00

Always wondered how to duplicate It.

Barbara
Jun 13, 2009, 22:00

I think this is going to be VERY helpful, I have to eat gluten free foods so i can make my own! How great is that??

Brandy
Nov 12, 2008, 22:00

I use buttered flavored crisco for the shortening and store this in a tub in our fridge. This makes the best dumplings. Last month I made dumplings with store bought Bisquick and my family still has not forgiven me, so I will be making more of this recipe for chicken and dumplings this weekend.

Claudia
Mar 26, 2008, 22:00

This recipe is fabulous to keep on hand for when you're in a pinch to get dinner on the table or a quick breakfast. I always keep some on hand. A Low-Fat Bisquick clone would aslo be great for every day when we might not want the transfats though :-)

Tiffany Mann
Jan 7, 2008, 22:00

This recipe was great. I like how easy it is, how few ingredients there are, and how versatile it is. I have used this recipe now several times and keep coming back for more. I did add 1/2 TBSP sugar and dry buttermilk to the mix. This seemed to give a more original taste and texture. Very happy With this overall.

Anonymous
Aug 1, 2006, 22:00

I actually refer back to this recipe more than any other. I even made it with Wheat Free/Gulten Free Flour. My son has a Wheat alergy. I always have a container in my fridge.

Erin
Feb 18, 2006, 22:00

I thought this was as good as the original, and I sure like the cost a lot better! Made a big batch and just put it in the original yellow box. Couldn't tell the difference at all.

Bisquick Baking Mix
Sep 26, 2005, 22:00

Actually a little dried Buttermilk and a little sugar makes this recipe a little better.