THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Applebee's Baked French Onion Soup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Applebee's Baked French Onion Soup

Back to product details

Score: 4.90. Votes: 10
 
Score: 4.90. Votes: 10
Rating of votes (10)
5
 
 
9 customers
4
 
 
1 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 10, per page
Lora-Lee Miller
Mar 6, 2015, 22:00

Absolutely the best French Onion soup EVER! If you can't find Swanson (like me) use Knorr Beef broth & cut the salt by about half. I also add 3 shakes Lea & Perrins (half recipe) or 1 tbsp full recipe. You can also substitute shredded Greyere for parmesan if you want. And I must agree with other reviewers, the Holland Rusk Rounds are perfect for this soup!

Judy Jones
Mar 15, 2013, 22:00

I have almost every book you have put out. When I need a recipe I just come here and it tells me which book to look in, Awesome! My 2 son's love this recipe. It's so easy to make and it taste so good. I add 5 shakes of Worcestershire sauce and I now use the Holland Biscuits. Comments are great to help out other Chef's!

Fat 'Ol Sarge
Dec 13, 2011, 22:00

This recipe is almost exactly like Applebee's. I have information from a former Applebee's cook that the crouton is a slice of Holland Rusk (a round toast imported from Holland). I also use a couple of dashs of Maggi seasoning (google it)...

Theresa Stutts
Sep 5, 2011, 22:00

I LOVE this receipe. I have made it many times. I also add a little red pepper to give it a little heat :)

donna
Mar 1, 2009, 22:00

This is the best onion soup I have ever had I used Texas toast ciabatta 4 cheese and it work excellent.

Jeff
Feb 25, 2008, 22:00

This recipe is great! I have made this recipe a few times now and tried it with a couple different broths. Use Swansons Beef broth for the best results. No contest! I like to use Texas Toast to make the croutons. Five Stars Baby!

Mary
Sep 28, 2007, 22:00

This is wonderful! I used texas toast instead though and used a glass to cut out the circle for the bread.

Judy
May 22, 2006, 22:00

Not only do I like this recipe, my two boys love it. Even though the onions over power the house. They ask for it all the time.

Vicky
Jan 22, 2006, 22:00

Instead of the bread bun, Holland House (in the cracker isle of the grocery store) has the exact 'rounds' needed for this soup.

Jackie Stahrr
Aug 15, 2005, 22:00

This recipe is GREAT!! My family loves it. I have made it many times and everyone asks for the recipe. (I think the recipe is bit too salty so I don't add the extra salt.) You can't substitute another brand of beef broth it has to be Swansons.