The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Panera Bread Broccoli Cheddar Soup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Panera Bread Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Score: 4.27 (votes: 22)
 
Rating of votes (22)
5
 
 
12customers
4
 
 
4customers
3
 
 
6customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
Shawna Crain
Dec 19, 2020, 16:47
Maybe I wasn’t holding my mouth right or something, but I could NOT get this soup to thicken up! Also, it started out kind of bland and tasteless to me (gosh, I hope it’s not COVID) until I added the rest of the cheese from the package, extra broth (I whisked in extra flour so it wasn’t any MORE runny) and also added a pinch of nutmeg. I read on the interwebs (where everything is true????) that adding nutmeg gives it that extra something. It worked! And bonus, you can’t taste the nutmeg flavor at all. Sheesh. I’m one of THOSE reviewers who gives something a crappy review, yet substitutes every single ingredient and adds stuff besides. Then when it tastes awful they give it a 1 star rating. This did end up tasting very good, albeit runny. Trust me, add a pinch of nutmeg and a sprinkle of celery salt (full disclosure). You’ll love it.
Ron Peters
Jan 12, 2018, 08:21
As this is recipe is pretty good. I used
2 Tbsp. butter or margarine
1 med chopped onion
1/2pk mushrooms chopped fine, the other 1/2 chopped course
2Tbsp. flour
1/2 tsp celery seed
2-1/2cups milk
3/4lb. (12 oz.) VELVEETA®, cut up
2 bunches fresh broccoli florets blanched
1/8tsp. pepper
The celery seed does the trick !
julie Sorbo
Dec 28, 2013, 22:00
I made this recipe exactly as written the first time. I now do it cheaper with substitutes (regular shredded cheddar.) My family loves this recipe, I make it gluten free with 1/2 the amount corn starch instead of flour!
Bree
Nov 25, 2008, 22:00
Didn't taste exactly like Panera's Bread, but it was delicious and very, very similar! My daughter loved it!
Heidi
Sep 29, 2008, 22:00
I loved this recipe! I thought it tasted amazing. When the soup was done it did not seem as creamy as the one at Panera but it could be because I used fat free half and half. I loved it!
Stefanie
Jul 28, 2008, 22:00
This was one of my first recipes from "Top Secret" and found that it was very close to the original at Panera. I didn't get the flour taste that was mentioned in the other reviews. Be sure to use the processed cheese slices instead of the shredded cheese just as the recipe states. Very Good!
Becki
Jun 15, 2008, 22:00
I was SO happy with the results of this recipe! I thought it tasted JUST like Panera Bread's recipe and I went exactly by the recipe! I LOVED it! THANKS!
Cathy
Apr 7, 2008, 22:00
This was a big dissappointment. Usually all of your clones taste just like the restaurant. This is a miss. I added about 2T real cheddar, and it was just watery and salty. I don't think I'll try it again.
Kim
May 14, 2007, 22:00
Also floury in taste--I used Kraft Deluxe sharp cheddar and soup was thicker and delicious. Also steamed broccoli over chicken broth to not lose broccoli flavor in water
Jesse
May 8, 2007, 22:00
I made this recipe twice, the second time using real cheddar instead of processed, made both ways it's not quite like Panera but it's good.