The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Heinz Ketchup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Heinz Ketchup

Score: 4.69 (votes: 80)
 
Rating of votes (80)
5
 
 
66customers
4
 
 
7customers
3
 
 
5customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
2customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
Chris Cane
Jul 2, 2019, 06:43
Just found out I have an onion allergy and of course all store bought ketchup is made w/ onion powder. This just started cooking and I can already tell it's VERY close to the Heinz's recipe. I'm Sooo stinking excited! I loved how versatile this recipe is. Of course I left out the onion powder, and after reading the reviews I used honey in place of the corn syrup, molasses in place of the sugar and added 1/4 teas celery salt and 1/8 teas cloves and it still tastes close to Heinz . I can already tell this is way better, and much closer to store bought ketchup, than the other 3 recipes I've tried so far. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!
Heather Leal
Feb 6, 2019, 19:51
Todd, you are brilliant! This recipe is spot on!
Jennifer White
Feb 6, 2019, 12:15
Thanks, I'm amazed by the amount of sugar is in ketchup so this will allow me to remove or reduce the amount of sugar.
Deana Raymondo
Feb 6, 2019, 11:09
I've done this ketchup recipe several times. My daughter, the world's biggest ketchup lover, won't even buy ketchup anymore! She calls mom, (me), and asks for me to make her some. I told her recently she's 27 and it's time she made it herself. Lol. She pouted and whined, "but mommy, it tastes so much better when YOU make it!" Yeah, right ;) Of course I give in and make it for her! She thanks you from the bottom of her heart Todd Wilbur!
Mary
Jun 19, 2016, 22:00
What a great recipe for ketchup! I ran out and decided to make my own. I am glad I did. Thanks for sharing.
Michelle
May 30, 2016, 22:00
This is the best ketchup recipe I have had in a long time ! You didn'have to chase it around the plate to dip your french fry in it ! I did listen to the comments about the corn syrup and started off with a fourth a cup and then went up from there. My mother loved it and it went great with my roasted new potatoes. Thanx ;~}
Jay
Mar 10, 2016, 22:00
I found myself in a pinch and needed more ketchup. I followed this recipe as written not expecting anything great. I was wrong. This is an excellent recipe that my whole family enjoyed. Exactly the same as Heinz? No, but it's good enough and close enough that I will use this again. Thank you.
Lexxe
Jan 22, 2016, 22:00
I'm very picky about ketchup and was skeptical I could make something as good as Heinz. After reviewing recipes on several different websites, I gave this one a try because it used much less ingredients than most and took about half of the time. I figured if it didn't work out, I wouldn't waste much. After batch one, I am now heading to the store to buy mason jars instead of ketchup, haha. This turned out *better* than Heinz, if you can believe that! I like the tanginess and the boldness.
Ginny
Oct 18, 2015, 22:00
Everytime I run out of ketchup, (and that is often), I keep coming back to this recipe, again & again. It's GREAT! No people, it isn't identical to Heinz, because it is w/o preservatives, but it is better and tastes real fresh! This time I had to use apple cider vinegar because I ran out of white, and couldn't tell a difference! I do add celery salt and a tiny pinch of ground cloves.... but it's not necessary. I got a kick out of "1tahoegal", who says it tastes nothing l
Nancy
Sep 23, 2015, 22:00
We made some maid-rite and french fries and had no ketchup couldn't afford any so I googled this, and like your recipe, tried it! Delicious! Course I added a pinch of cinnamon ,ground cloves, and cayenne pepper! Might not ever by Ketchup again