THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Soup Nazi's Mexican Chicken Chili copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Soup Nazi's Mexican Chicken Chili

Back to product details

Score: 4.59. Votes: 51
 
Score: 4.59. Votes: 51
Rating of votes (51)
5
 
 
44 customers
4
 
 
2 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
4 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 51, per page
Wes
Dec 25, 2009, 22:00

I can't recommend this recipe highly enough - simply outstanding! I've made it several times, and made the mistake of passing a container of it along to a friend. Now everybody wants some!

craftysportlvr
Dec 7, 2009, 22:00

My husband made this soup last night and it was EXCELLENT!!! We have decided it is one of the best we have ever had. He eliminated the celery and doubled up on the corn. Since I am a wimp and don't like too much spice, he made sure to seed the jalapeno. What a wonderful soup. It will definitely be made more often. Thank you for sharing.

rjfavro
Nov 4, 2009, 22:00

I won a chili cookoff with this recipe - I make it all winter long and everyone loves it - it's a perfect of flavors and spice and so easy to make. I do reduce the water amount and use 2 big containers of chicken stock and then use water to bring it up to cover the ingredients.

Wilvis
Feb 15, 2009, 22:00

I always make a double batch, since it's so popular. BTW the canned ingredients are much easier that way (the basic recipe calls for half a can of several things). However I only use 1.5 x the spices, as it cooks down ~5 hrs. Carefully salt to taste at the end, as the amount called for is light IMHO.

TomInCTown
Jan 23, 2009, 22:00

Along with my wife and kids, I think this is one of my all time favorite soup recipes. It is a roller coaster ride of flavors. The longer it simmers, the better the flavors come out. Instead of regular tomato sauce, I use EL PATO from the Mexican aisle of the supermarket. I also substitute ROTEL for the diced tomatoes. We like it spicy, but not flaming hot. Excellent!

KathyInKS
Sep 24, 2008, 22:00

WOW!! I made this soup lastnight and it was EXCELLENT! Since I was at work all day and not home to tend to a pot on the stove, I changed my cooking process just a bit. While I was home over my lunch hour, first I cut up my chicken into chunks, then quickly browned it in a skillet. I then put all ingredients into my crockpot and turned it on HIGH for the afternoon (about 4 1/2 hours). After I returned home from work, I put the soup into a pot on the stove, took the lid off and held the soup at a slow simmer to reduce the liquid. I had this on for about 1 1/4 hours till we ate after my son got home from FB practice. It was AWESOME! Not sure if I got it quite reduced down as much as if I had cooked it on the stovetop the whole time, but the taste and seasonings were very good. It also was very tasty today when I had some leftovers for lunch. I'll definitely keep this recipe in my files! YUMMY!

JenSis
Aug 12, 2008, 22:00

My husband can't get enough of this stuff.

Lynn
Apr 7, 2008, 22:00

I've made this soup a number of times and it's delish. I had leftovers (for once) and brought it to the office to reheat for lunch the next day. I offered to share with my boss and he has been talking about this soup ever since ... it's that good.

LoriInMA
Mar 24, 2008, 22:00

WOW! This soup is fabulous! I made it for a company party and every drop went! I just modified it a bit by using 8 c. chicken stock, 3 small potatoes, 8 oz tomato sauce, and a bit extra on the chili powder and cumin. The "secret" with this baby is the long simmering time. I didn't "time it", but just followed the hint to simmer it long enough to change the color from a "orangey color to more of a brownish" and allow it to thicken. If done right, this chili WILL THICKEN and not be "soupy" as others have said. Ciao!

Chris F
Feb 23, 2008, 22:00

I made this a few months ago and it was a very tasteless soup. I even went heavy on the spices when I made it...

Items: 110 of 51, per page