THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Soup Nazi's Indian Mulligatawny Soup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Soup Nazi's Indian Mulligatawny Soup

Back to product details

Score: 4.61. Votes: 31
 
Score: 4.61. Votes: 31
Rating of votes (31)
5
 
 
24 customers
4
 
 
3 customers
3
 
 
3 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 2130 of 31, per page
Mary Rice
Mar 12, 2006, 22:00

Fabulous. I use vegetable stock instead of the chicken stock for my vegetarian friends. This soup is so good. It tastes rich, unlike a lot of other vegetable soups, which can be watery and bland. However, I do have to simmer it for a lot longer than the recipe calls for - (it's probably my stove top.) Thank you for this recipe - it's my favorite soup in the world.

Pete
Feb 20, 2006, 22:00

First tried this soup when it hit this site. Never had the original, but I can see what all the fuss is about. It may take some time simmering, but it's by far the best soup I've ever made. Never tried it in a crock pot, but I now have a pressure cooker and am dying to try it in there to speed up the process because it's so hard to wait for the finished product in the stovetop. A must try recipe!

jinksy
Feb 19, 2006, 22:00

Anyone who says this soup is bland has made a vital mistake- not simmering it for long enough. As the recipe states you must wait until the soup has reduced its liquid by 50%. This takes hours. Probably more suited to the presure cooker owner than anything. Best soup ever!

Rob
Dec 27, 2005, 22:00

Excellent soup! prep time and accuracy with the ingredients are the bulk of the work here.

Vince
Nov 12, 2005, 22:00

I found it long to make and a little bland.

Rhoda
Oct 24, 2005, 22:00

Additional Comment-- If using pressure cooker, I only add 1/4 of the water, if that.

franzcooks
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

This soup is awesome! It smells great and is fun to prepare. I get up early to start it up and let is simmer all day. Longer is WAY better. It's a holiday staple.

Mary Rice
Sep 11, 2005, 22:00

Fabulous! I triple the recipe in a gigantic soup pot, freeze it in Ziploc bags, and my family is NEVER tired of it. I've never had the original, so I can't compare them. However, it doesn't matter; this version is one of the best vegetable soups ever!

T.O. Cook
Aug 8, 2005, 22:00

Whenever I make this soup, all the guests ask for the recipe. It's alot of work but worth it. I use a hand-held mixer to puree all of the ingredients. It doesn't matter if there are small chunks left. I then broil some baguette slices topped with goat cheese and serve pour the soup over top.

Dick Davis
Aug 5, 2005, 22:00

A lot of work and quite a while in the kitchen. I used a smooth top electric range which didn't maintain consistent heat. Gas would be much, much better. Have also used a crock pot, using less water, overnight. In my opinion, as with many soups, it's better the second day.

Items: 2130 of 31, per page