THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Soup Nazi's Indian Mulligatawny Soup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Soup Nazi's Indian Mulligatawny Soup

Back to product details

Score: 4.61. Votes: 31
 
Score: 4.61. Votes: 31
Rating of votes (31)
5
 
 
24 customers
4
 
 
3 customers
3
 
 
3 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 1120 of 31, per page
Catherine
May 19, 2007, 22:00

What a wonderful soup! I just made it and wish I would have made a bigger batch because we ate it all up! I only used 1/2 the liquid and used about 4 TBS of my own curry powder (2 parts ground coriender, 1 part cumin, 1/4 part cardemon, 1/4 part tumeric, 1/4 part cayanne and a dash of cinnamon). Only cooked it 2 hours and it was perfect. I pureed about 2 cups of thwe soup and put it back in the pot before serving. I would recommend this recipe to anyone.

Groves_Family_Zoo
Mar 22, 2007, 22:00

Absolutely delicious! Prep time was a bit long, and I actually had to simmer mine for almost 12 hours, but I think that's because I have an electric glasstop stove. I'm definitely investing in a pressure cooker for future soup creations. Everyone that tasted has liked it. I did add a few personal touches though...I added squash, zucchini, green beans, and vegetarian black beans to mine. I also used Italian seasoning instead of the Thyme, and used Garlic powder, salt, and some chili powder. I also used Vegetable broth instead of chicken broth (I'm a vegetarian), Splenda instead of sugar (I'm also diabetic), and soy margarine instead of butter. Just about all the seasoning was almost doubled because of the amount of water that is required to start with and because I used veggie broth instead of chicken broth. Oh, and I added Tofurky breakfast link pieces and soy-based

ChefForSix
Mar 3, 2007, 22:00

I made it exactly as the recipe says (minus the marjoram since I couldn't find it at the store) and it turned out great! Yeah, I had to boil it for about 3 1/2 - 4 hours but it turned out so good. As leftovers, it was even better. By far, the best soup that I have ever made.

SamLowrey
Feb 10, 2007, 22:00

Never tried any version of this before. It turned out well thanks to taking some advice from others who have commented here. I added ONE CUP of water. I see no reason to add a bunch of water just to reduce it unless something requires an inordinate amount of cooking time, which none of this does by my reasoning. Cooked it one hour. Can't imagine cooking it longer, it would all fall apart. Also trippled the curry. Used 4 cups veg. stock and 2 cups chicken. Also, forgot the tomato sauce at the store, so did without that.

Fatboy
Feb 9, 2007, 22:00

TOOOO much liquid!!!! Use enough liquid to just cover all of the ingredients in the pot. Over medium high heat and bring to a boil reduce heat let simmer. Keep in mind to stir occasionaly this will help with your reduction. This soup can be very good it just takes sometime to figure it out.

Robert M.
Jan 14, 2007, 22:00

Well, it's probably my less than mediocre cooking skills, but as my girlfriend aptly said: 'it tastes like water with vegetables'. And I had it simmer for about 8 hours........ Will try it a second time with a lot more curry powder and a lot less water.

Adam
Jan 13, 2007, 22:00

Great flavor, but . . . It took SIX hours for the reduction to complete. In that time, everything in the pot turned to mush, including the nuts. My family got so tired of waiting they ordered a pizza. If I try it again, I'd use half the water.

jackie
Jan 5, 2007, 22:00

I beg my mom to make it all the time, it's the best.

W2+K
Nov 4, 2006, 22:00

Incredible soup. I make it every fall and it is so satisfying. My favorite soup. I add extra curry and thyme, and sometimes extra tomato sauce. What I love about this soup is that you throw it in the pot and then wait five hours! It is so hearty and the leftovers are even better.

Jeff P.
May 29, 2006, 22:00

Best soup ever. I use a whole eggplant and an equal weight of potatoes so I usually need to double the spices too.

Items: 1120 of 31, per page