THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Soup Nazi's Cream of Sweet Potato Soup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Soup Nazi's Cream of Sweet Potato Soup

Back to product details

Score: 4.10. Votes: 21
 
Score: 4.10. Votes: 21
Rating of votes (21)
5
 
 
13 customers
4
 
 
4 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
3 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 21, per page
ChezGery
Mar 27, 2013, 22:00

I loved this soup and didn't 'tweak' anything, it has layers of flavor, especially with the cashews. As For just boiling rather than baking, it should be a no-brainier - baking condenses the flavor and allows the sugary flavor to caramelize rather than being washed away in a slurry that goes down the drain along with a lot of flavor. Each to his/her own,however.

Chuck
Jan 4, 2008, 22:00

I just made this for the 1st time and I just have 3 words. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this. I had a happy mistake happen to me. I cut the recipe in half and for some reason, I used just a quarter of the liquids from the original recipe. The soup cooked down into a nice, luxuriously thick soup that reminded me of the thick cream soups I had in Montreal and Quebec. I also added the Heavy Cream (in my case) at the very end. Try it!!!!!

J.C.
Nov 17, 2007, 22:00

This is a great recipe, easy and tasty and subtle. For those few who feel it doesn't have a strong enough flavor try adding a can of coconut milk and don't add any thyme.

Dan
Jan 21, 2007, 22:00

This soup is wonderful! As long as you follow the directions and allow at least 90 mins for simmering (stirring frequently) it will taste fantastic!

Lauren
Jul 18, 2006, 22:00

For those who found this soup bland...in Todd's book I believe he made mention of cooking the soup for at least one hour minimum. You have to. Do not skip out after a half an hour. If you do, it will taste like water with potatoes in it, trust me. I personally find that it doesn't taste right until you boil it for an hour and 30 minutes as a minimum. It's AMAZING and definitely not bland.

Jinksy
Feb 19, 2006, 22:00

I made this recipe twice- and i found if you put a decent coating of olive oil and seasoning on the sweet potatoes when baking- followed by a 1/4 cup of olive oil with baked potatoes in the blender before adding to the rest of the mixture- the soup comes out much creamier and smooth.

Laura
Feb 3, 2006, 22:00

I like this a lot, the small amount of half and half adds a nice cream flavor without too much extra fat. PS Neta, baking sweet potatoes adds another depth of flavor from carmelizing.

Jayem
Jan 10, 2006, 22:00

I am an armchair cook but was tempted by the easy sweet potato soup recipe. I never ate Soup Nazi soup so I don't know what it's supposed to taste like. My first version had chopped onions and celery and big splash of white wine. I also used less water than called for. It was pretty good. The next time I tried it I aimed more for the accepted recipe but again with much less water and with white wine (and no onions or celery). That was even better than the first attempt. I'd give my version of Todd's version a 4. As soon as I can get another bag o' sweets from Trader Joe's I'm off again.

neta
Jan 10, 2006, 22:00

Ingriedientes are missing in this recipe, it needs celery & parsley. Thyme does not go with this recipe, yuck. And why bake the potatoes, that's ridiculous just boil them.

Jan
Dec 25, 2005, 22:00

Absolutely love this soup, used Chicken broth instead of water. Yummy . Great with cornbread.

Items: 110 of 21, per page