THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Shoney's Slow-Cooked Pot Roast

Back to product details

Score: 5.00. Votes: 8
 
Score: 5.00. Votes: 8
Rating of votes (8)
5
 
8 customers
4
 
 
0 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 18 of 8, per page
Kim
Jul 7, 2016, 22:00

My absolute favorite pot roast recipe!

bonnie
Mar 14, 2013, 22:00

This is the only roast recipe I use now. It really really is that good. I took it to a potluck and I could hear the others say they could sit there all day and eat just the roast beef LOL

Jane
Mar 11, 2013, 22:00

I've made this recipe several times already and you can't go wrong each time. I use a chuck roast and the ingredients makes it so flavorful without changing it around. The meat is very tender. There is plenty of delicious gravy to go around for mashed potatoes.

bonste
Oct 18, 2012, 22:00

This is sooo good. It really is the ONLY way I will make a roast beef now. For me any cut of roast beef works, I just get what ever is on sale and haven't noticed any difference. It always gets rave reviews at my house!

Brenda
Feb 10, 2012, 22:00

This is the first pot roast recipe I ever tried that was not only fall-apart tender, but had my hubby raving for seconds. Eventually I tried the chuck roast suggestion as well, but the flavor was noticeably inferior. Stick to the recipe as written and you can't go wrong.

Jennifer
Apr 4, 2011, 22:00

I have had the first Restaurant Cookbook since it was on bookstore shelves. I have made many amazing recipes from the book, but it never dawned on me to try this. Now that I have a family, I have tried several pot roast recipes but they were just ok. Last week, I stumbled on this recipe and it was so so good!

Claudia Chapman
Mar 7, 2011, 22:00

I live in CA, and have never visited a Shoney's, so I chose this recipe because I had a 5 lb. chuck cross rib roast to tenderize. I marinated it first for 24 hours in an oil, balsamic vinegar, worcestshire type recipe, then baked as directed. Only difference is I baked in a closed clay baker w/o veggies. Added carrots, potatoes and onions once meat was tender and 'chunked' into pieces. Basted all with juices in baker, sea salted and peppered veggies, and baked till they were tender.

Margaret George
Mar 3, 2011, 22:00

I have been using this recipe for pot roast ever since I bought my 1st of Todd Wilbur's cookbooks many years ago. It is a family favorite! I use a chuck roast and I also add peeled potatoes, cut into halves or quarters, at the same time that the carrots go in during the last 40-50 minutes of cooking. Delicious and flavorful! Makes excellent leftovers too!