THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Sabra Classic Hummus

Back to product details

Score: 4.47. Votes: 15
 
Score: 4.47. Votes: 15
Rating of votes (15)
5
 
 
9 customers
4
 
 
4 customers
3
 
 
2 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 15, per page
Lori Siade
Jan 20, 2019, 17:42

I do not eat any hummus but Sabra's so was looking forward to making this copy cat recipe. This had a good flavor and was easy to make but I wouldnt say an exact match. Did use the citric acid, streamed in the olive oil at the end and roasted some garlic to top the hummus with. Served for a late afternoon snack with vegetables and pita chips. Made and reviewed for the What's On The Menu recipe tag game.

Robin G.
Feb 22, 2018, 15:20

I love Sabra Hummus and haven’t been able to figure out how to make it at home until now!! I love this hummus and it’s super easy. The one problem I had was making the recipe as is it is much too dry and thick. I couldn’t even blend it in my Vitamix! I had to add probably a 1/2 cup water to thin it out so I could even blend it, but the taste is superb.

NeicyBee
Nov 27, 2014, 22:00

This is a fantastic recipe! Best homemade Hummus I have ever made. I had the citric acid that I bought with some canning supplies and I think this really made the difference.

Michelle
Apr 7, 2014, 22:00

Will you please tell Mr. Wilbur that his Sabra mock hummus is better than the one from the store. I make it so much I have the recipe memorized. It's quick and easy. Unfortunately, if I'm not careful, I will sit down and eat the entire thing! I double up when I take it to events.

aburtch
Oct 6, 2013, 22:00

I was very skeptical that you could make a hummus at home that tasted like Sabra, which I consider the best store brand. Usually things are so processed and have so many artificial flavors and preservatives they are hard to replicate. However, I'm happy to say that I was wrong. This recipe was not only delicious, it really did taste almost exactly like the Sabra brand. I even did a side-by-side taste test and while it wasn't exact, it was incredibly close.

Mary
Oct 29, 2011, 22:00

Mine needed much more lemon. This tasted nothing like Sabra, but was still good.

7107islands
Jul 12, 2011, 22:00

Very close to sabra except I did not have the citric acid the recipe called for....I am happy with this recipe.....from this you can add other ingredients to tweak it.

Jeff Gehrig
Apr 28, 2011, 22:00

Nicer with dried chick peas instead of canned, they need to be soaked overnight though. Also better with freshly squeezed lemon juice (juice of 2 lemons) and olive oil is the correct oil to use. It's also usually sprinkled with Paprika and drizzled with olive oil, garnished with a few sliced Kalamata olives.

kdelmul
May 12, 2010, 22:00

This is fantastic. I used white beans instead of garbanzos so it's a little thin but the flavor is wonderful! No more store bought hummus for me.

almost there
Oct 14, 2008, 22:00

This was very good. I don't know about the recommendation to use True Lemon, however as this contains sweetener. I ended up using Fruit Fresh which is a mixture of ascorbic and citric acids as I could not find a pure citric in the grocery store and didn't want to wait. The flavor was very good but the Tahnini was a bit on the strong side. might be the brand or maybe I used too much (potent stuff). Mixed with chopped pickled jalapenos and it was almost as good as the real Sabra Jalapeno Hummus...I didn't have a problem with separation (I mixed the oil in slowly) but then again the real product has a problem with separation...

Items: 110 of 15, per page