THE #1 COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Popeyes Chicken Sandwich copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Popeyes Chicken Sandwich

Back to product details

Score: 4.80. Votes: 15
 
Score: 4.80. Votes: 15
Rating of votes (15)
5
 
 
13 customers
4
 
 
1 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 14, per page
Lisa Peru
Jun 15, 2021, 18:16

Amazing. My husband and I hadn't tried the actual sandwich from Popeyes but we thought this was really good. He bragged to guys at work who had tried it from the restaurant so they wanted to do a comparison. I made 5 sandwiches and one guy bought 5 and everyone said the sandwich itself tasted identical. One mentioned the spicy mayo from Popeyes was just a little spicier. I'll adjust that a bit and I think we'll have an identical clone. Great job on this one.

Chris Gursky
Jul 23, 2020, 22:35

omitted the MSG as I try not to use it and still came out fantastic - had these for dinner ( gotta make the spicy sauce too). I may never wait in line again as these were even better than the original - Love your clone recipes Todd - Thanks

Diane
May 1, 2020, 16:19

I was a little skeptical about how these would come out but wow, they taste amazing! We didn't have any pickles or the same buns but made the spicy mayo and it was delicious as well. Highly recommend!

Katharina Reiche
Apr 3, 2020, 22:34

Under no circumstances omit the MSG! It makes all the difference for perfect, delicious sandwiches. MSG is not unhealthy in the slightest (and you should read up on the shockingly racist origins of the claim that it is).

David Kirkman
Jan 24, 2020, 20:56

So I’m not the biggest fan of the Popeyes version, but my kids are. I made this tonight and my kids said this version tasted BETTER than the restaurant version. Well done Todd!

Robbie
Dec 14, 2019, 20:49

For a family that has eaten the Popeye's chicken sandwich about 4 times since their return, (We just couldn't bring ourselves to wait in line either time but especially the first time) it doesn't get any better than this. THIS SANDWICH TOPS THE ORIGINAL, NO EXAGGERATION. We noticed that we didn't have the heavy feeling and the fat, sodium and carb intake is better than the original. The recipe was very easy to follow.

Amber Gray
Nov 18, 2019, 09:52

Have not had the real thing yet at Popeyes however my family loved this sandwich, kids begged me to make it again. I used King Arthur Flour self-rising flour, and it worked great but otherwise made no changes to recipe as written. It's a keeper!

Kirsten
Nov 18, 2019, 08:02

Really good! Definitely omit the msg though, it is, as always, very unhealthy and pretty unnecessary to the flavour.. I found your comment on that to be really strange. I added garlic powder to the brine instead.

Elex Gipson
Nov 16, 2019, 08:36

Tried ur clone first before buying a Popeyes one yesterday. Have to say YOUR clone tastes a lot better. Now you need to clone their spicy sauce. I'm kinda biased to you because I've been using your cookbooks for 20 years!

Marie P.
Nov 16, 2019, 08:35

My whole family LOVED it! Even my kids fought over the extra one I made. I'm a die hard fan of your work and WILL make it again and again!

Items: 110 of 14, per page