THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

P.F. Chang's Chang's Spicy Chicken copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

P.F. Chang's Chang's Spicy Chicken

Back to product details

Score: 5.00. Votes: 9
 
Score: 5.00. Votes: 9
Rating of votes (9)
5
 
9 customers
4
 
 
0 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 19 of 9, per page
Karol Getz
Jan 10, 2018, 16:45

Well, I finally broke down and took the time to make this. Honestly I have never eaten the Chang’s Spicy Chicken but my husband has and loves it. With that said, the dish turned out great but tasted different than the original. The chicken had a good texture so did the sauce which I tripled since I was feeding 7 people. When I was choosing the chili sauce at the store, I went with the sweet chili sauce because most of the others had garlic. My husband did say it wasn’t just like PF Chang’s which makes me think the sweet chili sauce changed the taste. Next time I will choose a different one to see if that makes it more like the restaurant’s. Regardless I will definitely make it again! Thanks for the recipe!!

Beth Chollett
Dec 10, 2017, 00:54

Delicious! We use Thai sweet chili sauce. I actually have found it occasionally in larger grocery stores, but they do sell it at Asian markets. It's in a clear bottle (looks like a regular sauce bottle, thick at the bottom and narrow at the top) and it's a pinkish/red color with Thai chili flakes floating in it (Mae Ploy is the brand we use - . We use this frequently for dipping eggrolls, etc.

BETH AUGUSTINE
Sep 18, 2015, 22:00

Have made this several times now, just haven't gotten around to rating it. Made it exactly as in recipe and everyone loved it.

Heather
Jun 2, 2014, 22:00

Thought this was very close to PF Chang's. We found the sambal (chilli paste) and not the chilli sauce because all of the chilli sauces had the garlic in them, so I am assuming it was a bit spicier because of it being a paste not a sauce , may cut back next time but it was terrific. Will serve this a lot.

David Hensinger
Jan 26, 2014, 22:00

The recipe was very close to the real thing. I didn't have the heat issue as others, but the chicken texture was a bit off. All-in-all...right on the money. This is now a recipe we will cycle with our other good eats!

T. H. Holloway
May 3, 2006, 22:00

I thought this recipe was just excellent and very close to the real thing. I added about two teaspoons of red hot pepper flakes which kicked it up just right. May add a little more of the pepper flakes next time. I had my daughter try it with her eyes closed and said "P.F. Changs!"

Janie
Apr 11, 2006, 22:00

My roommates want to lick the bowl after it's all gone. Right on! I'd try a more spicy chili sauce though if you want that spicy zing the original dish has. The sweet is just as good though (haven't tried the garlic yet).

Jennifer, Houston TX.
Jan 28, 2006, 22:00

I followed the recipe and found that the texture of the chicken was not the same as Pei Wei or P.F. Changs. Instead it was smooth. I "fried" some chicken and used the sauce and decided it was much closer to the version I eat all the time. I don't think the company fries it the same way I did, but it was definitely good and definitely closer than the version here. The sauce is perfect. Just adjust the chicken!

Lesleigh
Oct 24, 2005, 22:00

This is my husband's favorite meal, and he says the clone is as close as you can get without eating at Chang's!