THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Perkins Family Restaurants Potato Pancakes copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Perkins Family Restaurants Potato Pancakes

Back to product details

Score: 4.44. Votes: 9
 
Score: 4.44. Votes: 9
Rating of votes (9)
5
 
 
7 customers
4
 
 
1 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 19 of 9, per page
Sue
Jun 13, 2016, 22:00

Years ago, I worked as a prep cook for Perkins restaurant, which meant one of my responsibilities was making the batter for these. I loved these so much, I STILL remember the recipe, and this is it! The only thing missing is the sour cream on the side. Enjoy folks, this is PERFECT!!

Goskip89
Mar 28, 2016, 22:00

I used dried hashbrowns reconstituted and followed the recipe as written after that. Nicely flavored, tender pancakes resulted. Thanks.

Maryann
Nov 7, 2014, 22:00

Hands down best recipe for Perkin's Potato Pancakes. I've tried scores of "just like Perkin's" recipes over the years trying to get that taste,as there were no Perkin's near me when I lived in VA after leaving PA. We are now retired and in SC and still no Perkin's. We go to FL every few months and I head right to Perkin's. Ate many Perkin's potato pancakes over the years and this recipe is excellent! Thank you so much for sharing it!

Ray M.
Apr 24, 2006, 22:00

Sorry but I tried this recipe 2 times,first with real potatoes, second with the hash brown potatoes , and both times I got a very soupy batter and lousey resulting pancakes.

nora hurley
Apr 11, 2006, 22:00

absolutely delicious and so easy to make --- thank you

Apr 10, 2006, 22:00

Great recipe! a must try!

ChezGery,Chef in Medford Oegon
Apr 9, 2006, 22:00

Fantastic! Very much like 'Latkes', Jewish potato pancakes that use medium-ground matzo meal in place of the flour. I use fresh floury russet potatoes which are peeled and shredded into a large colander, also grate the onion along with the potatoes. Don't rinse! press down on them,squeezing out as much of the thick starchy liquid as possible. Then transfer potato/onion mixture to batter and mix. TIP: if cutting or grating onions bring tears to your eyes simply place the onion(s) in the frezzer for thirty(30) minutes before preparing---no tears from the sulfer fumes. Also, after ladling the dolops into the pan flatten the pancakes slightly with the back of a spoon.These golden pancakes go well with apple sauce and sour cream, too!

CS McCreary
Apr 9, 2006, 22:00

A couple of quick comments: 1. The pancakes will be more 'authentically' Perkins' if you use SHREDDED hash browns; 2. In a pinch, 1 cup of complete pancake mix substitutes beautifully for the flour, sugar and baking powder. You still do need the cup of milk (though I used skim with no problems), salt, eggs, etc. I also subbed a tablespoon of dried parsley flakes and it was still delicious!!

Mari
Apr 9, 2006, 22:00

Oh, just one other thing: at the restaurant, we serve these with a scoop of butter, two slices of bacon, and applesauce. The applesauce is even better than syrup, in my opinion.