THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Panera Bread French Onion Soup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Panera Bread French Onion Soup

Back to product details

Score: 4.11. Votes: 18
 
Score: 4.11. Votes: 18
Rating of votes (18)
5
 
 
9 customers
4
 
 
5 customers
3
 
 
2 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 18, per page
thewrestler007
Sep 30, 2013, 22:00

French onion soup is my favorite thing to make, and I agree that this tastes good, but it isn't close to Panera. The soup at Panera is significantly darker and much more "beefy" flavor. I suspect that they add extra buillon or something.

mom2Danny
Mar 3, 2013, 22:00

My 6 year old said this was " the best thing I have ever made !" He ate 3 bowls and even took some to school for lunch today ! This was excellent - close to Panera's version - now please get to work on the " asian sesame dressing" they have and I will be able to make our all time favorite lunch at home !!!

Wawaseejan
Feb 27, 2013, 22:00

Very good - with a little tweaking: Use half the amount of salt and pepper, then taste at the end and add more if desired. Get a tube of tomato paste and add a teaspoon of it instead of the ketchup. (Ketchup has a lot of sugar, so do onions. Using tomato paste will help it not be too sweet.)

J-Rock
Jun 6, 2012, 22:00

I'm a HUGE fan of the real thing, so I was THRILLED to try this out! Very simple to make, I already had almost every ingredient on-hand. One thing, though - scratch the ketchup and the Tobasco. There was WAY too much tomato taste in the soup for it to taste like the real thing. Other than that, not bad.

Sharon
Dec 24, 2008, 22:00

OMG!! This is the best! I make it over and over again! Todd really hit this one out of the park! The thing that makes it especially great are the croutons and cheese. Just like the real thing.

Greg
Jul 27, 2008, 22:00

I am not generally an onion lover, but I really like this soup. My mother who has eaten this soup at Panera thought it tasted just like it.

jcpittsy
Jun 27, 2008, 22:00

I just made this for supper. It was good but the color was a little lighter..and it was a little too sweet. It wasnt as good as theirs. The asiago is a must. I would make it again.

kristen
Sep 13, 2007, 22:00

I love the soup at panera bread and for me this did not resemble it at all! This version was so sweet unlike the "real" soup (from the onions i guess). I have liked all the recipes on here so maybe I did something wrong? Help!

Anonymous
Jan 5, 2007, 22:00

I love Panera's soup, and this version is dead on! Since all I had on hand was salted butter, I swapped out one can of regular beef brother for a low sodium version, as well as the low sodium chicken broth and it still tasted great. I would however, change the amount of pepper, way too much! the bite from the pepper was almost over powering. But either way, it is a great copy and I can't wait to make it again!

Shelly
Mar 13, 2006, 22:00

I finally got around to making this recipe last night and I love it!! I do have to say that I think it calls for WAY too much black pepper. The taste of it is almost overwhelming, and I don't think it was like that at Panera's. I would change both this and the salt "to taste", or, maybe 1/2 tsp. each and then "to taste".

Items: 110 of 18, per page