THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Outback Steakhouse Honey Wheat Bushman Bread copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Outback Steakhouse Honey Wheat Bushman Bread

Back to product details

Score: 4.43. Votes: 30
 
Score: 4.43. Votes: 30
Rating of votes (30)
5
 
 
23 customers
4
 
 
1 customers
3
 
 
2 customers
2
 
 
4 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 30, per page
BethC
Jul 15, 2015, 22:00

Our family LOVES this bread! I find it odd that there are such varying ratings on this because if you follow the recipe like Todd has it, it is absolutely delish! One person says it tastes just like OBSH & the next one says it tastes nothing like it. How can they both be right about the same recipe? Unless someone isn't doing something right. We've never changed a thing on it and everyone we've shared it with ask us if we went and bought loaves from the restaurant.

AL TULLIS
May 24, 2015, 22:00

Excellent, baking in the Ninja with water under the pan the bread is crusty yet has a cake like consistency that ,my freinds and I adore.

carol
Mar 18, 2015, 22:00

I made a few slight changes and it was perfect. So good I can't stop eating it. My changes are: I did 1/4 cup of molasses 2 TBLS Honey and 2 TBLS DRY COFFEE. I don't use instant so I put some coffee grounds in my nut grinder and it made them as instant coffee. These changes really was exactly what I was looking for.

KrisB
Feb 14, 2015, 22:00

I too did the Keurig Italian roast in lieu of water and made this for a very HARSH group of judges - my brothers -- who LOVE to find any reason to make fun of me. Well --la-dee-dah -- they WOLFED it down and took my 'stash' loaf home with them! It was GREAT, lots of flavor, I did not use the food color it absolutely did not need it -- my color was rich and robust like the flavor. I used Hershey's extra dark cocoa and that may have helped.

GinaMarie
Mar 30, 2014, 22:00

I made this once and did find it close to the OB bread but not quite right. I added coffee and realized if I would have read the posts first that others were recommending the same LOL! But I did replace the water with a strong brewed doughnut shop coffee from my Keurig and it was right on the money!!

Sue
Mar 19, 2014, 22:00

This recipe is wonderful. My family loves it! I use my bread machine to make the dough which makes it super easy.

Ashley
Mar 15, 2014, 22:00

I just pulled these out of the oven and it turned out great! I threw everything in my bread maker and put it on the dough setting and let it rise the second time out of the bread maker, I did forget the coloring but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It's not exactly outback but pretty close and tastes really good!

Mrs C
Feb 19, 2014, 22:00

FYI everyone. You can buy Caramel Color powder from King Arthur Flour Company. It is made by the DD Williamson & Co. in Louisville, KY. and comes in a 3 oz jar. The first time I made this recipe I followed it to a T, but my bread was very crumbly. I made it again and added another T of butter, 1/4 C of vital wheat gluten that is in most flour sections of your major groceries and 1 T of the Caramel Coloring. I made sure to knead it in my mixer for 10-12 minutes and let it rise in my warming drawer.

ladysmith
Jan 29, 2014, 22:00

it's missing the coffee that makes it truer to the Outback recipe! I use 1 Tablespoon instant coffee granules OR replace the warm water with warm brewed coffee. I prefer the instant because it allows me to use milk instead of water for a richer bread.

Don
Dec 11, 2013, 22:00

I used my bread machine dough cycle. Used only half teaspoons of color blue n red. Rest water. Did not have cocoa. So I skipped the sugar n just used hot cocoa mix that had surger in it already. Oh n i used agave for the honey cuz I didn't have any on hand. Turned out really nicely n tastes great!

Items: 110 of 30, per page