THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Original Pancake House German Pancake

Back to product details

Score: 4.51. Votes: 35
 
Score: 4.51. Votes: 35
Rating of votes (35)
5
 
 
29 customers
4
 
 
2 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
3 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 35, per page
Dbergie1
Mar 3, 2016, 22:00

To get the most puff, make sure eggs, milk, and cream are at room temperature before you start.

jford808
Sep 20, 2015, 22:00

Awesome! My wife and son were probably just being nice when they said it was better than the Pancake House, but I sure did like it and found it very comparable. I did not have a cast iron skillet (unfortunately) but I did have a nice thick non-stick skillet and left it in the oven while preheating so it was piping hot when I poured in the batter and it came out great.

CTYankeeGal
Apr 15, 2015, 22:00

German pancakes are scrumptious! You must add flour to beaten eggs before adding liquid if you want a rise in the oven. Either way you should get a nice texture. I beat eggs til very thick and lightly mix in flour, and get a non-poofy but very delicate sponge texture. I always heat cast iron pan with 2 tblsp butter for 6 minutes in 400 degree oven ( must be butter, spreads don't work).

Jessy Ed
Nov 16, 2014, 22:00

I love the Dutch Baby from the pancake house but this is my go to recipe for my personal pleasure. I was so excited to see it rise. It was delicious. Making another now.

Almost like the store
Oct 24, 2014, 22:00

It's excellent but somehow isn't as good as the Dutch baby at Original Pancake House.

Bean
May 14, 2014, 22:00

Very good flavor, and good puff. Mine was a bit tough but I must have mixed it to long. I will be trying this again real soon. Thanks for the knock off, it's perfect.

Rosalyn S Collins
Nov 10, 2013, 22:00

I am sadden having to have moved fron Detroit, MIto Atlanta...I've gone to every Original Hous of Pancake here and to my suprise either they are the worst cooks or they don't have them..This recipe is the BEST ever. I can now make my own. Love it! Try it!!!!

Doug
Mar 24, 2013, 22:00

You don't need Cast Iron pan! We used a glass pie dish! Loved it.

Christine Audi
Jul 9, 2012, 22:00

While I can not compare this to the original, (as I have never had it) I can say this is excellent. BONUS-this is very easy to prepare. My 8 year old neighbor makes this for her family. As far as the negative reviews-I can only imagine that those who posted did something wrong with the recipe or used the wrong sized CAST IRON SKILLET.

Turann
Nov 19, 2008, 22:00

This is absolutely scrumptious. I have made it 3 times now and each time it came out perfect. I even halved the recipe once and used a smaller frying pan and it came out superb. I made it for visiting relatives and they were amazed.

Items: 110 of 35, per page