THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Mimi's Cafe French Market Onion Soup

Back to product details

Score: 4.08. Votes: 12
 
Score: 4.08. Votes: 12
Rating of votes (12)
5
 
 
8 customers
4
 
 
1 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
2 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 12, per page
Stuart Katz
Jan 17, 2019, 10:25

Any "French Onion" soup that uses canned broth is a loser. Sorry, but if you are going to the trouble of making soup, use real meat and real shin bones. As for Kraft Parm as part of the topping, that is the most ridiculous thing I ever heard. This is a terrible recipie for canned soup. Google, Famous-Barr French onions soup, for the real deal.

LESLIE CAMERON
Nov 29, 2018, 12:48

Amazing soup. My roommate had it and loved it so I came on here to find it. He said it was better than Mimi's. It could just be because he was in the comfort of our apartment but it us one of the best soups I've made or tasted period.

Kelly
Jan 1, 2012, 22:00

I make this soup often, it is awesome! I have never tried Mimi's version, but this one rocks. It's perfect for people like me who do not like alot of herbs in soup. I have tried it with low sodium beef broth as well, but found the flavor isn't quite there.

John P
Apr 24, 2009, 22:00

This recipe is awesome! I had a chance to go to Mimi's Cafe to try it and was totally disapointed when it was bought to me cold. When the waiter replaced it, it was pretty good but not as good as the recipe here. Todd your the best!

Rhonda
Jan 26, 2009, 22:00

I love this recipe (even if it is Todd's original.) This soup has wonderful flavor and my boyfriend likes it better than Mimi's.

Kevin G
Dec 19, 2008, 22:00

Interesting... none of my other comments regarding this recipe have been posted! Probably because it's mainly negative since this recipe doesn't resemble the original - which is available on Mimi's website!! Therefore, this isn't a copycat recipe -it's Todd's original. If you want an original Mimi's recipe, go to their website.

Boowoh
Dec 9, 2008, 22:00

I made this and it was reaaly good. Next time I will probably use low sodium broth and add a couple of cans to have leftovers for lunch.

Anne
Dec 6, 2008, 22:00

Good recipe - and economical, too. Used vegetable broth and it turned out great. Easy to make - perfect for chilly nights. Important to let it simmer for a good hour for best flavor. Will make again!

Mary
Dec 4, 2008, 22:00

I thought this was just okay. It couldn't have been easier, but it was a little bland for my taste. For more flavor, I added Worchestershire sauce and Cognac. I did like the three cheese topping combo. Who doesn't love melted cheese!

Erin
Feb 18, 2006, 22:00

Absolutely WONDERFUL! My family and I eat this all winter long. Super simple to make, and always gets rave reviews.

Items: 110 of 12, per page