THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Mimi's Cafe Carrot Raisin Bread

Back to product details

Score: 4.40. Votes: 15
 
Score: 4.40. Votes: 15
Rating of votes (15)
5
 
 
12 customers
4
 
 
0 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 15, per page
Mrs. C
Jan 14, 2015, 22:00

This bread is delicious, especially warmed with whipped butter. It wasn't oily at all, it was perfect!

Faye
Mar 19, 2014, 22:00

I have made this cake as written and it has way way to much oil. I used paper towels to soak up as much oil as I could then layered a container, put cake in container and let it set for a couple days. It still had to much oil. An adjustment to the oil is much needed. Someday I will try it again or maybe just go to Mimi's.

Dena
Dec 1, 2008, 22:00

Yummy, yummy. This is so good. Only, variation I made was I used applesauce instead of the oil. Very moist and tasty.

Elisa
Oct 16, 2008, 22:00

I followed Angies comments because I am a big believer in the babyfood idea. This recipe is very tasty if you follow her suggestions to alter it. Actually I have never made it as written, too much oil for my pallette.

Angie
Jun 13, 2008, 22:00

Awesome! I have made this about 4 times. Outstanding! I get request for it all the time. I would make it more often but it goes toooooo fast :) 1st time, made it as directed. Now instead of the amount of sugar called for I use 1/2 cp white sugar + 1/2 cp brown sugar also instead of 1 cp oil I use 1/2 cp oil + 1/2 cp baby food carrots. These two changes save loads of calories and make it even more moist and a little darker. AWESOME! I made some for Mother's Day and in the morning I will be making it for Father's Day! Thanks so much!!!!!

DRIEN
Feb 12, 2008, 22:00

I made this bread over the weekend and my family loves it. I can not tell the difference between mine and Mimi's. This recipe is a keeper.

rdnangel
Nov 23, 2007, 22:00

Have been making this bread ever since it appeared on Top Secret. It is one of the best sweet breads ever. I love that the recipe makes 2 loaves. This turns out great everytime and freezes well and keeps in the fridge for a long time. Highest rating. If you don't already have the recipe it is more than worth the 79 Cents to order it.

chng
Jul 15, 2007, 22:00

I was so excited when I found this recipe. I tried it this weekend and it was excellent! I followed the instruction the first time and it turned out really well. Second time around, I cut back on the sugar, raisin, and walnut and increased the shredded carrots by the same amount I decreased the raisin and walnut. I also chopped the raisin. The result....it was even more moist! The only thing I can tell the difference between this recipe and Mimi's....I think Mimi might have brushed on some oil or butter to the top of the bread at the very end. This is definitely a keeper recipe. I have made 4 loafs this weekend and it's all gone!

LilyRae83
Apr 22, 2007, 22:00

I love Mimi's Carrot Raisin Bread and was eager to try it at home. I doubled the recipe and it was gone with in less than a week; I've had friends and coworkers pestering me to make it again ever since, it was delicious! I did make one big adjustment - I substituted organic, plain, no sugar added applesauce for half the oil called for. The bread remained super moist and everone could feel better about eating it! The best part of making it yourself is being able to control the ingredients :o)

Carrie
Aug 11, 2006, 22:00

This tastes so close to the real carrot raisin bread at Mimi's! I work there, and I always crave the bread. Now I can just make it on my own! It's awesome and everyone that I've had try it has loved it as well!

Items: 110 of 15, per page