THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

McDonald's Hot Mustard Sauce copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

McDonald's Hot Mustard Sauce

Back to product details

Score: 3.95. Votes: 19
 
Score: 3.95. Votes: 19
Rating of votes (19)
5
 
 
11 customers
4
 
 
2 customers
3
 
 
2 customers
2
 
 
2 customers
1
 
 
2 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 19, per page
Brit
Apr 26, 2014, 22:00

I have consumed McDonald's hot mustard several times a week(before it was discontinued) from the time I was 10 years old (I'm now 30). I consider myself an expert on the taste;) and unfortunately, this doesn't taste like it at all. For those of you who haven't made it yet, the color, consistency, and taste is very similar to the hot mustard packets they give you in Chinese food restaurants. It's missing the tang and zing of McDonald's hot mustard, and tastes sort of...eggy?

Dennis
Apr 9, 2014, 22:00

I have made this. It is too sweet. Leave out the sugar and it will be even closer.

Mamacita
Mar 30, 2014, 22:00

You ca be sure I'll be making this from now on, seeing McD's has discontinued it this spring. Of course it was much easier to just order it with the nuggets. Will have to plan my outings around making the sauce now.

Nick
Mar 10, 2014, 22:00

I would not say it is spot on, but damn close. It's like it's missing ground cayenne, or something. It is also slightly too much on the sticky side, but still damn good and close. Thanks for the recipe!

paul flanary
Mar 8, 2014, 22:00

I just made this recipe today and also added an egg. It is soooo close to the original version. If I decide to ever frequent a McDonalds again I can at least order the mcNuggets. That;s the only reason I go there in the first place.

Ryan L
Mar 2, 2014, 22:00

It's very close to the real thing. If the majority agree and one egg says its wrong, guess who did it wrong. | | | V This Guy

Mike
Feb 27, 2014, 22:00

The McDonalds recipe uses eggs to give it the right consistency. This one's off.

Chris
Feb 27, 2014, 22:00

This is not even close. I have no idea how so many people like this. I think the other people have never had McDonald's hot mustard.

Rick G.
Feb 17, 2014, 22:00

I'm sorry, but I believe most people here have no taste buds. This is not even close to the original. Only thing is that it actually has mustard.

glane
Feb 13, 2014, 22:00

Oh Boy. As skeptical as I was but as disappointed as I'd been i found and made a double batch. It's amazing. I'm grateful. I doctored mine up with a chulula and franks sub for habanero and added red pepper flakes. Who has two full jars of his long time favorite condiment and ingredients for more?. this guy!! FYI - Use organic sugar. Going back to eating now.

Items: 110 of 19, per page