THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Maid-Rite Loose Meat Sandwich

Back to product details

Score: 4.38. Votes: 53
 
Score: 4.38. Votes: 53
Rating of votes (53)
5
 
 
34 customers
4
 
 
9 customers
3
 
 
7 customers
2
 
 
2 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 3140 of 53, per page
SallyL
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

I have made these for years, since I grew up on these delights every Fri night from The Maid Rite in Ottumwa, Iowa. After work, dad would stop and get a bag of them for the family and we would sit around the table and thoroughly enjoy them. I do mine in the crock pot so they are well steamed and wrap each in wax paper just like in the good ole days.

Sharon
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

This is the recipe I use at home, and everyone loves them! I use beef bullion in mine.

shellks
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

Here in Wichita, KS, we LOVE our Nu-Way sandwiches. I've spent alot of time in Iowa too, and have many community cookbooks, with Maid-Rite recipes galore to prove it! This is a very close replica. The mustard, pickle, onion is the key (just like a great cheeseburger)! If you use good pickles it will be perfect!

TonnieLoree
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

I cook a lot of meals as a volunteer at a local Veterans facility. I was always looking for something different to serve. This was it. I don't add the additional salt, but always get great reviews from the veterans. It's quick and easy and delicious.

Vicki
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

Living in Des Moines all my life, I am very familiar to Maid Rites. This is how I have been making them for years. I used to sit at the counter and watch them cook them and the steam is what does it. If you ever get to Iowa you will find a Maid Rite in nearly all the major towns.

yvonnej2
Sep 15, 2005, 22:00

In the South for the most part, if you don't order your burger differently, you automatically get one with mustard, onion, pickle, and tomato. I thought I had come up with this recipe quite originally in the late 60's just to save time. I guess everyone else was doing the same thing. This is exactly what I have been doing most of my life. It's great.

Barbara
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00

I remember these from when I was a teen-ager in Sacramento. It was our favorite place to go for the delicious loose meat sandwiches. They just kind of vanished and I often wondered what happened to them. I have always wondered how to make them and I am so very happy that you came up with the recipe. I'm now 70 and I can't wait to make them this weekend for my daughter. Thanks so much for the happy ending to my long lasting mystery of how I could make them myself.

Carol
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00

I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I will. It sounds exactly the way it should be made. Making sure the meat is in tiny little pieces is part of the tradition of this sandwich. Do not add ketchup to the sloppy joe mixture -- it goes on top of your sandwich AFTER it's cooked, along with any other condiments you desire. I'm 65 yrs. old, and this sandwich was around BEFORE I was born --It's awesome!!!

Carol Marol
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00

I'm originally from Illinois, where we also have the Maid Rite chain. I agree with you about "no Coca Cola" in the sandwich. My dad is a retired policeman who used to frequent the restaurant at lunch. He told me the hamburger is actually steamed. So what I do is use one of those veggie steamers, brown the meat in there & use a squirt bottle to put beef broth in it. (Has to be drained occasionally.) Dad taste-tested it & said it was just like the real thing! I don't salt & pepper mine, either.

Gordon, San Antonio
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00

I sure was glad to see this recipe. After being gone from the midwest for a lot of years, Maid-Rite sandwiches have been sorely missed. I will try this recipe, but just reading it makes me salivate!!

Items: 3140 of 53, per page