THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Maid-Rite Loose Meat Sandwich copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Maid-Rite Loose Meat Sandwich

Back to product details

Score: 4.38. Votes: 53
 
Score: 4.38. Votes: 53
Rating of votes (53)
5
 
 
34 customers
4
 
 
9 customers
3
 
 
7 customers
2
 
 
2 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 1120 of 53, per page
veronica haas
May 10, 2011, 22:00

When I was a young girl growing up a little south of St. Paul, MN; My parents used to take us down to Cannon Falls on some nice weekends to the Maid Rite there. An older couple owned it and sometime in the late sixties or early seventies they closed, I think it was due to road improvement, and the building was torn down. So; I have always been looking to find a recipe to make these for my family, which I did today.... and they're a HUGE HIT!!!

Duane
Feb 5, 2011, 22:00

This is not the same as buying one there. It tastes good but it is no made rite.

MsSoozieq
Sep 15, 2008, 22:00

I've lived in central Iowa most of my life and have easy access to Maid-Rites. There have been dozens of "recipes" for this sandwich. Someone who used to work in a Maid-Rite shop told me they used 7-up and flour. I don't know this is true, but the meat is very dry... no visible grease, so the flour might be a good addition.

Donna
Aug 11, 2008, 22:00

I just made these for the first time and we loved them! We have never had the original Maid-Rite sandwiches but hope to someday. My husband's exact words were "These are @#$%ing GREAT!" (Sorry - wanted to convey how much he loved them.) So glad I bought this one!

Jeni
May 29, 2007, 22:00

I worked as an Assistant Manager for a Maidrite in Bettendorf, IA. The seasoning came in silver packet and had no ingredient list on it! You mized the packet with one gallon of water, then poured it over the raw hamburger when you put it in the steam bin. The meat cooks excruciatingly slow...several hours, and we kept a huge potato masher in the bin so we could repeatedly mash and mash and mash the meat to smithereens. All the big chunks of meat had to be broken up. People would drive from all over to have a Maidrite! And they are VERY MUCH an acquired taste!

karen
Aug 20, 2006, 22:00

I live in oklahoma now but was raised in Missouri we had a maid-rite place in town so I was pretty much raised on them. I go back home a few times a year and always bug the place for the recipe or the stuff they put in them but they never would, so the last time that I was home as usual first stop was to have a maid-rite. Well later on in the weekend after many maid-rites my aunt called and said she had the recipe...I just didn't believe that was all that was in it, so after gettin back home I made it. While it was steaming I was on here looking at all the comments, and still I was thinking it just cant be..Boy was I wrong...These things are great and pretty much right on.....THANK-YOU

Connie
May 18, 2006, 22:00

In 1926, Fred Angell, a respected butcher in Muscatine, Iowa, combined a special cut and grind of meat with a selected set of spices and created the one and only Maid-Rite sandwich. As legend goes, Mr. Angell asked a delivery man, at his restaurant, to taste his newest sandwich creation. After a few bites, the taster exclaimed, "You know, Fred, this sandwich is just made right." Thus our signature sandwiches name was born. Maid-Rite has withstood the test of time for over 79 years. From our humble beginnings of a restaurant owned by a man with a dream of serving great tasting food, the sandwich that was "TOO GOOD TO BE A PATTY" was established. Maid-Rites are cooked in a delicious special seasoning in our special cut of ground beef and served on a warm home-maid bun. In addition to our signature Maid-Rite ground beef sandwiches, our delicious menu also includes such popular items as breaded tenderloins, maid-fresh-daily French fries and home-maid onion rings. Our Blue Bunny Ice Cream Shoppes serve waffle cones, hand dipped hard packed malts & shakes along with classic hot fudge, caramel, strawberry sundaes and parfaits. For true ice cream lovers, the Maid-Rite Blue Bunny Ice Cream Shoppes have specialty desserts like Chocolate Lovers Hot Fudge Brownie, MEGA size banana splits, Hot Fudge Double Mint Delights, and Cotton Candy ice cream sprinkles for kids. "Maid-Rites taste so good we'll drive 40 miles just to get one!" Penelope Swan Richmond, Missouri

Missy
Jan 6, 2006, 22:00

This recipe is very close to the original. My grandmother, an uncle and an aunt all worked for the Maid Rite when it was still here in town and then I later worked for the owners at their house, the only added ingredient that is not here is paprika...approx 2 tsp. One other thing I have been reading is what goes on a Maid Rite...it should always be ordered with everything which is ...plain mustard, onion, and dill relish...never dill pickle!!!! And NEVER EVER should ketchup be put on a Maid Rite!!

DENNY
Oct 2, 2005, 22:00

"One Star Kathy" should be spanked for not even trying this item........this is one of the greatest treats in the last fifty years......trust me.....

Marie
Sep 20, 2005, 22:00

We found this recipe to be totally bland. Yuk!

Items: 1120 of 53, per page