THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Maid-Rite Loose Meat Sandwich copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Maid-Rite Loose Meat Sandwich

Back to product details

Score: 4.38. Votes: 53
 
Score: 4.38. Votes: 53
Rating of votes (53)
5
 
 
34 customers
4
 
 
9 customers
3
 
 
7 customers
2
 
 
2 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 53, per page
Lori Oostendorp
Jun 26, 2019, 11:04

I worked at a Maid Rite shop for a few months as a cook years back. They used really good ground beef and only added salt, half as much celery salt, and pepper to the meat as it cooked, being squashed and manipulated between two large spatulas to break it up. No broth, no sugar, no coke syrup, nothing but the salts and pepper.

Steve Wald
Jun 25, 2019, 18:18

Like you, I have never tasted any hint of sweetness or many of these ingredients. I actually was at their corporate store in Des Moines several years ago watching them prepare it. I know for a fact that they have a proprietary seasoning blend packaged for them. I haven't seen the entire cooking process, but they cooked their product in was appeared to be a large wok-style piece of equipment (but not a steam table like I have seen) and as the meat was browning, they used an actual hand mixer to separate the pieces. Anyway, I think your recipe will hit the nail on the head when people try it. I think that I'll try it in a slow cooker to help break apart any remaining sinew and the connective tissue, which really helps it get to the small pieces that most people like. Anyway, great recipe!!

Eric
Dec 16, 2013, 22:00

Dehydrate onion, two parts oyster sauce, one part soy sauce and definitely steam the meat.

Alice
Oct 14, 2013, 22:00

Well, the Bettendorf one closed. The meat quality and flavor had gone downhill from what I remember from long ago. I made my own several years ago and my family said they tasted just like the real thing. I have mustard, onion, and pickles on the counter. Just got back from the store w/1-1/2# Amana 80/20 beef. The secret is STEAMING them on low heat for hours, breaking up the meat as it cooks, don't mash the juice out. I will use one packet of W=G. Washington's Rich Brown Seasoning

Michael Johnson
Sep 16, 2013, 22:00

I grew up eating at the original Made-Rite in Marshalltown and to this day love making them more than regular hamburgers. THe secret is getting good Iowa Beef

Marsha Border
Feb 23, 2013, 22:00

We too grew up on maid-rites in Nebraska it was franchised store and Jeni is correct, the packet came in silver packets without any ingredient info. She is spot on in the cooking process also. You don't precook the meat. Years ago in a popular magazine a close clone was onion soup mix but pulverizing it so no onion bits are visible I have used this method for years about the only thing that comes close simmered low and slow. 2 Tbl. Lipton onion soup mix,1/4 cup water to 1lb raw hamburger.

Galen Hiveley
Dec 31, 2012, 22:00

I bought Tod's recipe and tried it. No, that's not it. Of course living in Iowa almost all my life I really know how they taste and this isn't it. It may be partially correct. I think what one other person mentioned that paprika is added, might be correct. I'm not sure on that though until I try it. They do add coke, I've watched them do it at some locations. So that's my next try, use Todd's recipe, try adding paprika to one batch, try adding coke to another and see if

Frederick Nicholson
Jan 14, 2012, 22:00

I live in the quad cities, (Moline illinois is one of them) have eaten Maid Rites since the 1950's. After reading all of these posts one thing is clear, no one really knows. Also there are at least 4 Maid Rites in this area, only 1 (in bettendorf Iowa) has the flavor i recognize from my childhood. So it appears to me that individual franchise owners add what they feel is good enough, probably to maximize profits. Oh well my search continues!

Charlee Compo
Jun 29, 2011, 22:00

I'm not a burger fan but I do love the Macho Nachos that are made from the Maid-Rite meat mixture. You might want to try them. Place a couple of handfuls of round tortilla chips in your plate. To that add one large ladle of the meat mixture. Top with finely shredded lettuce, sliced green onions, finely chopped tomato and finely shredded cheddar cheese. A large dollop of salsa can be added last but you can also add sour cream. DON'T MELT THE CHEESE!

Robert Muller
Jun 27, 2011, 22:00

We just had a Maid-Rite open in my area and this reciped was not even close. The real one had much more flavor and seasoning. Maybe this was a clone of the Taylor Maid-Rite that I heard was different.

Items: 110 of 53, per page