THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Kozy Shack Rice Pudding copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Kozy Shack Rice Pudding

Back to product details

Score: 4.53. Votes: 36
 
Score: 4.53. Votes: 36
Rating of votes (36)
5
 
 
28 customers
4
 
 
5 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
3 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 36, per page
PKP
Jun 14, 2016, 22:00

My husband has always loved rice pudding but no recipe ever satisfied him till I found this one. I have discovered that if the humidity is high my pudding has to cook longer to thicken properly. The recipe DOES stipulate cook till thickens. After making this several times my husband eyeballs the thickness as he helps me stir and he can tell if it's thick enough even better than I. I don't use a thermometer and I have a glass topped stove so I make sure to stir every second of the cook time.

chip
May 15, 2016, 22:00

Wow the taste was RIGHT ON...only 6 ingredients!! WOW. I have been on a quest to make truly great rice pudding my entire life (long story) I did everything exactly as set forth in your recipe but after completely cooling it was rather loose...creamy but too loose. I cooked between 185 and 190 for 36 minutes after bringing my wet mix to 160, I also processed the medium grain rice as stated.

Liz Iverson
Oct 10, 2015, 22:00

I have been making rice pudding for years. I have several recipes and styles or varieties (i. e., custard, baked, crockpot) I've tried, as well as my husband's recipe which he swears by. This is the absolute best recipe I have ever found. I even doubled the recipe using an entire gallon of milk and my 5 or 6 quart Dutch oven. Perfection! Use a whisk to break up the rice if it clumps as it cooks. I used a coffee grinder for short pulses to break up the rice just a little, a candy thermometer.

Becky M.
Aug 13, 2015, 22:00

My mother in law loves this stuff. I would encourage you to make the sugar free version of this and the tapioca too.

Donna
Aug 12, 2015, 22:00

I have not tried this yet due to all the stirring. I make other rice puddings in my slow cookers. Do you think that would work for this recipe? Has anyone tried it with this recipe?

Linda S.
Aug 11, 2015, 22:00

I have made this several times, it is exactly the same. Just delicious.

Jim
Dec 4, 2014, 22:00

I remember emailing you years ago about this recipe all the time asking you to do a clone of kozy shacks rice pudding. I was so exited when i saw it on your site. Been making it for years now and its Awsome!! The least i can do is write a review.. Thank you!! Now how bout a clone of entenmans coconut custard pie?? Il review right away. Promise!

Beverly Johnson
Dec 4, 2013, 22:00

I have made this several times and it is always perfect. One thing I have done to make it easier for me is to use a slow cooker. After step 1 as directed, I pour it all into the crock pot and let it do its thing for many hours, once it was even overnight. It turns out creamy and delicious! Don't omit the blender chopping of the medium grain rice (don't use minute rice or long grain rice either). That rice dust thickens the pudding up a LOT. Anyone I feed this to, raves on and on!

Angie
Jul 27, 2012, 22:00

Second time making this, love it! This time it goes to my dad for his birthday!

Veronica Magana
Apr 23, 2011, 22:00

Great Recipe! I followed it exactly but added an extra 4 T of sugar and I did run the rice through a food processor as suggested. I did not have a thermometer but searched the web for boiling temperatures and found that the mixture will have "slight movement" at 160 degrees and small bubbles at 185 to 190 degrees. It took a while for it to thicken but it turned out great!

Items: 110 of 36, per page