THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

KFC Original Recipe Fried Chicken

Back to product details

Score: 4.56. Votes: 9
 
Score: 4.56. Votes: 9
Rating of votes (9)
5
 
 
7 customers
4
 
 
1 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 19 of 9, per page
Greg Kalchik
Mar 4, 2019, 16:27

I worked at KFC many years ago and ate a lot of this chicken. I made this recipe not long ago and it tasted very very close to the actual KFC chicken. I used a Foodsaver marinade container and only needed to marinade for about a half an hour.

Liz McGrath
Nov 19, 2011, 22:00

My husband used this recipe and our daughter and I were STUNNED!!! This is SO close to perfect! We will definitely make it again...absolutely delicious!!!

Susan Waters
Nov 10, 2011, 22:00

A previous reviewer said that it has to marinate over night but that is not correct. The recipe states 2 hours.

melodee moore
Oct 26, 2011, 22:00

I make my own version of fried chicken...but this recipe has too much salt listed. Since it is supposed to soak overnight in a brine, then the amount of salt should be reduced to a tsp or less. you could also try 1/2 tsp salt with 1/2 tsp celery salt, or just choose just one. This should fix the problems with it being too salty.

Barry Melton
Oct 26, 2011, 22:00

The end taste was a little salty. I'm not sure if it is from too much in the brine, or in the actual breading mix. All in all, it has some hints of the original KFC, but there was another overpowering spice in the breading. I'm thinking it was the sage, but could have been the marjoram. I also could not get the batter to cook to a crispy texture. I'm wondering if 300 deg on the oil is hot enough.

Joe Young/Christine Jackson
Oct 25, 2011, 22:00

Substitute thyme for savory. Substitute a little fish sauce in the brine for MSG We haven't had original recipe in a LONG time, but, tasted as close to what we remember it tasting like. Will definately make again, and again.

Stephen Davis
Oct 23, 2011, 22:00

I bought all new spices, fresh oil, I even have a pressure chicken fryer. I followed the recipe to the letter. The texture and appearance were perfect. However, the taste wasn

Thomas Knox
Oct 23, 2011, 22:00

I tried this recipe the other night. It turned out delicious, but I had to make a couple changes. I couldn't find "savory" at the grocery store, but I did find "McCormick Italian seasoning" which has Marjoram, Thyme, Rosemary, Savory, Sage, Oregano and Basil. I used 1 tsp in place of the Marjoram sage and savory. Also, I'm probably doing it wrong, but the first 3 pieces I fried to 18 minutes and they came out burnt, so I reduced the time and the breading came out perfect.

Garlene Stephens
Oct 20, 2011, 22:00

I think the taste is great except too much salt. and the egg and milk mixture could be cut in half.