THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Jack in the Box Taco copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Jack in the Box Taco

Back to product details

Score: 4.30. Votes: 10
 
Score: 4.30. Votes: 10
Rating of votes (10)
5
 
 
6 customers
4
 
 
1 customers
3
 
 
3 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 10, per page
Jeannine Gruenwald
May 7, 2020, 22:29

Just wanted to say thanks! We are in lock down (Covid crisis) and we really wanted tacos. This recipe was easy and delicious! We loved it. One thing that helped keep the tortillas from breaking was to heat them in a pan on each side before filling. Thanks again

JOYCE KOZOSKY
Aug 2, 2018, 01:37

There used to be Jack in the Boxes in Maryland, where I grew up. These tacos were my go to after a night of drinking. I have been using this clone for many years now, since they sold out to Taco Bell. I was so sad to see them leave the state, and SO HAPPY when Todd came out with this clone! It was what prompted me to buy my first TSR book, and now I have them all! BEST clone of the JitB!!! HIghly recommend ALL of Todd's books!

cher
Aug 11, 2015, 22:00

So the tacos were not on the original menu when Jack In The Box opened, and nor is it their own recipie. The tacos from Jack In The Box were origionally sold frozen in the grocery store back in the 1969's, they were sold under the brand name Roserita Brand, yes thats right, the same company that makes enchalada sauce, taco sauce etc,. They used to come frozen, and they came in 2 sizes, either a box of 6 that were regular size and 12 which were a box of 12 mini. There was absolutely no difference.

Suzie
Jun 17, 2015, 22:00

Reminder of my days in California

Mike in The Box
Apr 14, 2015, 22:00

Seems to me that the tacos vary from place to place, also that they got messed up when the trans fat thing happened back a few years ago. I have not tried this recipe yet, I had no idea there were beans in this, I suspected soy and turkey or something weird like that, I get a pair of these for a buck if ever I am passing a JIB around 11:30 to noon. LOL I will try this over and over until I get it right OR make them better. I am a Taco aholic and that will never change.

Bob Sss
Mar 12, 2015, 22:00

Before filling, quickly dip the tortilla in the hot grease, it will soften it for folding... As a kid, I filled in one night when my girlfriend's coworker didn't show up... I read the ingredient lists on the boxes and the tacos didn't contain "meat", it was meat flavored veges... Caution: Jack Tacos are addictive...

Deb
Mar 12, 2015, 22:00

After putting meat into taco shells place them in the fridge to cool. JIB's tacos come out of the fridge and into the oil. I would also recommend putting meat and refried beans into a Cuisinart or some type of food processor to get a fine grade of meat.

Lynn
Aug 19, 2013, 22:00

I thought they were great, it's the closest I can get to to real thing in Wisconsin.

shimie
Jun 30, 2013, 22:00

I believe the jack in the box tacos are frozen when dropped into a deep fryer. This may actually be key to getting the texture of the crunch down. The filling may also be off in the meat/bean ratio... I would increase the beans and almost puree them together. The jack in the box taco has no texture of ground beef it is smooth. I would refill the tacos with the adjusted mashed mixture and freeze. It would make a nice quick grab from the freezer and drop in the kitchen fryer meal.

Dick Jones
Jun 7, 2013, 22:00

It's a really decent deep fried taco recipe, but it's nothing like Jack In The Box tacos. The family liked the tacos. Deserves a "Good" rating, but no better