THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Houston's Chicago-Style Spinach Dip

Back to product details

Score: 4.00. Votes: 11
 
Score: 4.00. Votes: 11
Rating of votes (11)
5
 
 
5 customers
4
 
 
3 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
2 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 11, per page
Gary Hall
Jun 3, 2019, 06:16

I didn't find this that good and nothing like Houstons. It was heavy with the Monterrey cheese (like dipping into melted mozzarella). It broke most of the tortilla chips trying to use the dip. Taste wise it was ok - but texture / consistency - not really.

Heather Leal
Feb 6, 2019, 19:54

SO GOOD! This is my go to recipe. People beg for me to share this recipe!

David Sweedler
Apr 7, 2018, 08:42

For those who want a stronger more Italian flavor, try using fresh Mozz instead of jack cheese. Also an imported pecorino romano is an option as it is sharper and very authentic and less expensive than imported parm cheese. The domestic parms in blocks are much improved and can sometimes save bucks compared to the DOC parma reggiano. Italians love to add black pepper, freshly grated nutmeg and fresh minced garlic o spinach dishes so that is an option over the standard garlic salt. A Florentine style spinach dip. And hard breadsticks would not be out of place either for dipping.

Matts Mom
Oct 22, 2017, 07:49

I was at Houston's last week & had this & I made this last nite & it tastes nothing like their dip. It is very bland. I won't make this again. I love Todd tho, we own several of his cookbooks & lots of his recipes have been big hits in our house unfortunately this wasn't one of them....

Deanna
Mar 18, 2016, 22:00

I've never been to this restaurant, but this has gotten rave reviews all three times I've made it. A new fav!

Diane Rosenfeld
Mar 26, 2015, 22:00

It wasn't as creamy as I would like. So the second time I added 1/4 of mozzarella cheese. Much better

Denise
Apr 5, 2009, 22:00

I have never had Houston's spinach. But, I always get rave reviews when I make this one. Thanks!

Jen G
Sep 4, 2006, 22:00

Got rave reviews when I made this! Very very close to the Houston's version.

Alice Tiedemann
Jul 23, 2006, 22:00

Not like Houston's at all. The consistency was wrong and the cheese should be more stringy. The flavor was good, but overall I was disappointed.

Justacook
Jul 7, 2006, 22:00

This recipe was easy to make and tasted very good, but it didn't taste quite like Houston's so I only gave it 4 stars.

Items: 110 of 11, per page