THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Hellmann's - Best Foods Mayonnaise copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Hellmann's - Best Foods Mayonnaise

Back to product details

Score: 4.79. Votes: 39
 
Score: 4.79. Votes: 39
Rating of votes (39)
5
 
 
35 customers
4
 
 
2 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 3139 of 39, per page
Hal
May 10, 2006, 22:00

I don't understand why people don't realize that vegetable oil is actually soybean oil. Look closely at the contents description on the side of the bottle and it'll say "soybean oil" every time. Just thought you might like to know!

Yum
Jan 30, 2006, 22:00

I've made this for years, using a blender - a great recipe. Don't try to make this if a thunderstorm is looming, however - it may not emulsify well (I know, it sounds like an old wive's tale, but it's true).

Great!!!
Jan 28, 2006, 22:00

I make it every week at home!

~Bev~
Dec 5, 2005, 22:00

Not to worry about the raw egg. The acid in the vinegar "cooks" the egg just as it cooks the raw fish in Sushi.

Yum
Dec 2, 2005, 22:00

Hey concerned, ever had mayo? ALWAYS raw egg yolks in it... still concerned? Anyways, this one is great, and it's easy to customize by adding a little roasted and pureed garlic to make a great aioli or some horseradish for a perfect roast beef sandwich topping. Bravo.

concerned
Nov 14, 2005, 22:00

Did I miss that this recipe was cooked. No way would I use a raw egg in a recipe that is never cooked. sorry....

SCOT
Aug 3, 2005, 22:00

Save time and effort put in all except oil in the blender. add oil last in a slow steady stream. works perfectly.

Serene
Jul 27, 2005, 22:00

Great recipe! Is so fun and easy. And it is really thick and creamy. Anyone should give it a try.

Bill Carter
Jul 26, 2005, 22:00

Good, but don't bother with all that whisking. Put all the ingredients into a jar adding the oil last. Then get your hand blender out. Put it at the bottom of the jar and slowly bring it to the top. Perfect mayo with virtually no effort. Also, it tastes much better if the vinegar is substituted for more lemon juice.

Items: 3139 of 39, per page