THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Hellmann's - Best Foods Mayonnaise copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Hellmann's - Best Foods Mayonnaise

Back to product details

Score: 4.79. Votes: 39
 
Score: 4.79. Votes: 39
Rating of votes (39)
5
 
 
35 customers
4
 
 
2 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 39, per page
Alfonso Fabrizio
Jan 10, 2019, 09:19

This is a nice mayonnaise, but I found it wanting more tang (a lot more). It was kind of bland. What I love about Hellman's is that tanginess of it. I added both extra lemon juice and vinegar, but I don't think I got quite there (I'm anxious about adding too much and ruining it). By the way, doubling up all of the ingredients makes it a lot easier to measure.

Vickey Alford
Apr 22, 2018, 16:08

I have been making homemade mayonnaise for many years, this recipe was the closest to store bought I have found. Because I only eat healthy these are the changes I made: First off I doubled the recipe. Measurements were the same but I used free range organic eggs, raw apple cider vinegar, Kangen water, Himalayan sea salt, organic coconut sugar, fresh squeezed organic lemon juice, 1 1/4 cup Chosen Foods avocado oil, 3/4 cup organic coconut oil. Put all ingredients EXCEPT OIL in my vitamix blender, on lowest speed I blended for 3 minutes, then I turned it up to #8 speed and slowly poured in oil. Perfection!

Lupita
Jun 5, 2016, 22:00

I did it. It cones out perfectly well. Delicious. I had all ingredients so I decided to do it because I had run out of mayo. I will definitely switch to this one.

Angie
Jun 1, 2016, 22:00

I have been trying different recipes but nothing ever tasted quite right. This morning we discovered we only had a tiny bit of Hellman's left about a quarter of a cup. So I thought I would give it a try. I used the only thing I had veggie oil and it tastes fantastic we doubled the recipe and then added the remaining Hellman's from our jar now I have a full jar for another week of sandwiches. Thank you so much

G Gal
Dec 17, 2015, 22:00

I made this in my food processor, using a whole egg and added about a tsp of yellow mustard. It is delicious and thick and creamy.

Meredith Jane
Nov 2, 2015, 22:00

I tried the whole egg, the horseradish, grapeseed oil and the immersion blender. It emulsified so fast! It tastes so good. I just wanted homemade mayo and was so sick of my husband's Miracle Whip, it forced me to get this done. Hurrah!!

Jim McC
Sep 17, 2015, 22:00

Is it horrible to eat mayo by the spoonful? Love this recipe and the results. Have not performed a taste test with Hellmans yet, but I'm sure this mayo is healthier and better tasting. I make it with a combo of oils and every time it is fabulous.

Rikke
Aug 10, 2015, 22:00

I love making my own mayo and was horrified at the cost of Hellmans, so this is great. I agree with the other others though, I use a handblender and works perfectly. Also substitute half of the oil with either olive or coconut oil, or a combo of coconut and olive oil, when I'm low carbing.

mariahpoo
Jul 19, 2015, 22:00

I am in love with Heallman's (best foods) mayonnaise. I mean Obsessed. NOTHING come close to the taste. So when we switched to Organic and non GMO I was heartbroken. I tried several different kinds of mayonnaise with no success. They all have that weird taste! What is that? YUCK. Inedible. This recipe made me cry when I made and tasted it! SO easy and GREAT tasting. I used Avocado oil :) so it is super healthy too. My husband said it tastes even better then "Best Foods". Cleaner.

Glory
Jun 26, 2015, 22:00

Just looking for a recipe that is like Hellmans and if I can avoid soy veggie oil I do, it is in my opinion not a healthy oil (it is refined). This looks it can work with modifying the oil to something more healthy.

Items: 110 of 39, per page