THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

El Pollo Loco BBQ Black Beans

Back to product details

Score: 4.57. Votes: 14
 
Score: 4.57. Votes: 14
Rating of votes (14)
5
 
 
11 customers
4
 
 
2 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 14, per page
Howard Turner
Aug 19, 2014, 22:00

This recipe was a real eye opener! Here in the UK, we don't see many (any) BBQ black bean recipes and boy does this live up to the reviews. I've made these countless times now and it always comes out the same, although I generally use a high simmer heat for the 90 minutes. The point is to boil off the liquid to concentrate the flavours. So to those who've failed to make this recipe just needed to keep the heat going!

Lisa
Aug 27, 2013, 22:00

Loved this!! I made this as a side dish, but it was all I wanted to eat for dinner! If you have a bit of left over bbq brisket or cooked sausage, add it...yummy!

Pam
Jul 6, 2013, 22:00

This recipe turned great. I didn't have the bacon grease or red wine vinegar so I substituted a 1/4tsp of liquid smoke for the bacon grease and combined a tbsp of white vinegar and 2 tbsp of red wine for the red wine vinegar and they worked like a charm. I know what I'm bringing to the next work potluck. You can put it in a crockpot several hours before you want to serve it.

Sandi
Jul 2, 2013, 22:00

While the taste of this recipe is very good, I had to pour off almost 2 cups of liquid! I'd eliminate the water altogether and use only 1/2 cup of chicken broth

Phyllis
May 27, 2013, 22:00

Really good and El Pollo just discontinued them on 5-25-13 so we can still have them.

Karen Ritchey
Dec 10, 2012, 22:00

We love this recipe even more than El Pollo Loco's version and have made it many times. I also reduced water to 1 cup and just keep cooking until you reach the desired consistency.

Janet Saunders
Jun 17, 2012, 22:00

My family loved this recipe for BBQ Black Beans. After reading the reviews I decreased the water to 1 c. and simmered them for over two hours. Plan ahead or make them the day before serving. This will be my new go-to BBQ beans recipe.

Dawn Morgan
Jul 10, 2011, 22:00

These are spot on!

Kathryn Mattison-Gomez
Sep 1, 2008, 22:00

These are by far the best black beans that I have ever tasted, and living in Miami I have tasted quite a lot of black beans! As soon as they are through cooking I have to hide a little bowl for myself somewhere as there is an excellent chance that by the time dinner rolls around the pot is already empty.

DeNise
Nov 3, 2007, 22:00

This is one of my daughters favorite dishes at this restr. Yes it calls for a lot of water, I worried about that but followed the recipe. It DOES boil down and ticken up. They were right on to the restr. beans!! Everyone who eats them says they are wonderful. I use them now often instead of re-fried beans. Excellent!!!

Items: 110 of 14, per page