THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Chocolate Cake Mix

Back to product details

Score: 4.38. Votes: 13
 
Score: 4.38. Votes: 13
Rating of votes (13)
5
 
 
9 customers
4
 
 
2 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 13, per page
Deanna
Dec 17, 2014, 22:00

This is the only chocolate cake recipe I use now. Cake mixes aren't available in the country I live, so I was very happy to find this recipe worked so well. Everyone gives me rave reviews, and I really like how I can save the batches for later!

Amy Martinez
Sep 13, 2011, 22:00

My daughter has severe allergies to many packaged Items. This cake recipe works out perfect for us, thank you so much for adding this.

Lou
May 12, 2008, 22:00

This is a GREAT recipe! It's my new favorite chocolate cake. I have made it several times and it is never dry. I have to watch my sodium intake so I leave out the salt. It is still the best.

Deanna
Mar 6, 2006, 22:00

Great recipe!! I live in Costa Rica where box mixes are just coming available. I make several batches at a time and store them in canning jars. I omit the cocoa and add extracts or spices for variations.

Gina
Aug 23, 2005, 22:00

I am surprised that anyone said this recipe was dry, mine was extremely moist, they fell apart. I made them as cupcakes and I tend to reduce the baking time. Anyway, I think they were great and I agree that it is nice to not have all of the additives.

Rebecca
Aug 4, 2005, 22:00

At last - the convenience of a mix without the additives! It did seem to be a little drier than I could have wished, but not so much I won't be keeping it in my pantry.

Susan
Jul 26, 2005, 22:00

My husband just loved it. I bake every week for him (chocolate of course!) and his response to this cake was ..."now this is a REAL cake" I personally like the texture better than the boxed cakes plus none of the additives that you get with the boxed cakes!

Footsie
Jul 21, 2005, 22:00

For the life of me I don't understand why anyone would want to clone a boxed cake mix! There are so many wonderful cake recipes around it makes no sense to to copy a mix. If you're going to make a cake from scratch, use a good recipe. If you want a mix tasting cake, spend a buck and buy the box mix.

Karen
Jul 21, 2005, 22:00

My daughter has a nut allgery-THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. It was great, made it for her birthday, next will try adding vanilla as "Pam" suggested in the reviews.

DeAnna
Jul 20, 2005, 22:00

Outstanding! I was actually looking for a clone, of the Duncan Hines Chocolate Cake, on your sight this past December to use for my son's birthday cake. I was dissapointed then, but am VERY pleased now! The Duncan Hines Chocolate Cake mix just came to Ireland about 6 months ago and cost about the equivalant of $6 a box here. I whipped up your recipe earlier and my husband and his family just love the cake. Thank you so very much for what you do.

Items: 110 of 13, per page