THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

California Pizza Kitchen Dakota Smashed Pea and Barley Soup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

California Pizza Kitchen Dakota Smashed Pea and Barley Soup

Back to product details

Score: 4.50. Votes: 26
 
Score: 4.50. Votes: 26
Rating of votes (26)
5
 
 
19 customers
4
 
 
4 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 26, per page
Vikki
Feb 4, 2015, 22:00

Easy, straightforward recipe. Needs some salt and pepper added to taste at the end. I wonder if the people who ended up with watery soup covered the pots while cooking the peas and barley. I simmered both with out the lids and the liquid reduced perfectly.

lynda
Jan 23, 2015, 22:00

agreed, too much water. I ended up seasoning with ham base and added some inst mashed potatoes to thicken it up. Next time less water, and up the broth - 4 cups total. I will make this again and add some cubed ham

estaban
Jan 23, 2015, 22:00

Have not had the original but this was great. Todd always does a great job.

Colleen
Jan 4, 2015, 22:00

I thought this tasted so close, and home made is SO much better!!! In answer to watery, it's only watery until you put the cooked barley in & letting it sit is what helps it thicken. Mine was excellent, thick & everyone loved it!

Yorkie
Sep 11, 2014, 22:00

I agree with the other reviewer that 6 c water is too much for the split peas. Or maybe it's the brand of peas I used...no matter, I ended up with a flavorless soupy mess. Might try one more time with less liquid.

Andrea
Jul 24, 2014, 22:00

If you soak peas in water for a couple of hours even the night before you cook it will need soooo much less time to cook it...about 20-25 minutes only... do it with lentil, yellow peas, beans, etc too...

Liz
Jan 14, 2014, 22:00

Great recipe however I added chicken stock instead of vegetable and saut_ed my in ions and garlic. I also threw in a ham hock, it's a great recipe!

Steph
Oct 28, 2013, 22:00

This was easy and very tasty. I did saut_ the celery, onions and garlic before I put them in and i ran out of split peas so I used about a half cup legumes for the amount I was short. Very good and will definitely make again.

Michelle
Jul 27, 2013, 22:00

Love this recipe, but I take a few short cuts. I saut_ the veggies in olive oil first, until the onions are translucent, add the garlic for a few moments, and then throw in the peas and barley. After that, I add a quart of veggie broth and 6-8 cups of water (I normally start with 6 and then add more as needed). I add more salt than the recipe calls for and it comes out great, but I don't need two pots and can avoid draining the barley.

Linda
Feb 6, 2013, 22:00

I made this recipe just as written and it was excellent. I was surprised at how flavorful it was without ham! This is a keeper - simple and delicious!

Items: 110 of 26, per page