THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

California Pizza Kitchen Dakota Smashed Pea and Barley Soup

Back to product details

Score: 4.50. Votes: 26
 
Score: 4.50. Votes: 26
Rating of votes (26)
5
 
 
19 customers
4
 
 
4 customers
3
 
 
1 customers
2
 
 
1 customers
1
 
 
1 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 26, per page
Vikki
Feb 4, 2015, 22:00

Easy, straightforward recipe. Needs some salt and pepper added to taste at the end. I wonder if the people who ended up with watery soup covered the pots while cooking the peas and barley. I simmered both with out the lids and the liquid reduced perfectly.

lynda
Jan 23, 2015, 22:00

agreed, too much water. I ended up seasoning with ham base and added some inst mashed potatoes to thicken it up. Next time less water, and up the broth - 4 cups total. I will make this again and add some cubed ham

estaban
Jan 23, 2015, 22:00

Have not had the original but this was great. Todd always does a great job.

Colleen
Jan 4, 2015, 22:00

I thought this tasted so close, and home made is SO much better!!! In answer to watery, it's only watery until you put the cooked barley in & letting it sit is what helps it thicken. Mine was excellent, thick & everyone loved it!

Yorkie
Sep 11, 2014, 22:00

I agree with the other reviewer that 6 c water is too much for the split peas. Or maybe it's the brand of peas I used...no matter, I ended up with a flavorless soupy mess. Might try one more time with less liquid.

Andrea
Jul 24, 2014, 22:00

If you soak peas in water for a couple of hours even the night before you cook it will need soooo much less time to cook it...about 20-25 minutes only... do it with lentil, yellow peas, beans, etc too...

Liz
Jan 14, 2014, 22:00

Great recipe however I added chicken stock instead of vegetable and saut_ed my in ions and garlic. I also threw in a ham hock, it's a great recipe!

Steph
Oct 28, 2013, 22:00

This was easy and very tasty. I did saut_ the celery, onions and garlic before I put them in and i ran out of split peas so I used about a half cup legumes for the amount I was short. Very good and will definitely make again.

Michelle
Jul 27, 2013, 22:00

Love this recipe, but I take a few short cuts. I saut_ the veggies in olive oil first, until the onions are translucent, add the garlic for a few moments, and then throw in the peas and barley. After that, I add a quart of veggie broth and 6-8 cups of water (I normally start with 6 and then add more as needed). I add more salt than the recipe calls for and it comes out great, but I don't need two pots and can avoid draining the barley.

Linda
Feb 6, 2013, 22:00

I made this recipe just as written and it was excellent. I was surprised at how flavorful it was without ham! This is a keeper - simple and delicious!

Items: 110 of 26, per page