THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Benihana Japanese Fried Rice copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur
Add review

Benihana Japanese Fried Rice

Back to product details

Score: 4.18. Votes: 28
 
Score: 4.18. Votes: 28
Rating of votes (28)
5
 
 
16 customers
4
 
 
4 customers
3
 
 
5 customers
2
 
 
3 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 28, per page
Kathy Moore
Jan 27, 2019, 16:47

I have no idea how many times I have made this. Possibly the first TSR recipe I made, not sure how long ago that was, maybe 20 years ago. This is a great recipe, my go to for fried rice, delicious.

Benihana Expert
Oct 22, 2014, 22:00

The chefs at Benihana will tell you that they have regular butter and roasted garlic butter on their carts. They use the roasted garlic butter when making the fried rice. You can search for a roasted garlic recipe. After roasting and cooling the garlic, mash it and add to a stick or more of butter. Store in fridge until needed.

Ellen Nantker
Aug 6, 2013, 22:00

I've made this recipe several times and it is soooo good!

Debbie
Jan 7, 2009, 22:00

This recipe is just okay. As other comments have mentioned this does not taste like the rice from Benihana's. Having just ate there last week their rice (at least the one in L.A.) does not contain peas. I made my own and it matches their recipe much closer if not identical to Benihana's. I use four eggs, a few more tablespoons of butter, brown the sesame seeds first in the oven before adding to the mixture, and add green onion in addition to the brown onion (don't worry it won't be too much powerful). Plus you need more soy sauce than this recipe calls for, just add whatever your taste finds acceptable at the end. I did not add any garlic and it comes out great and flavorful.

Paul
Oct 4, 2008, 22:00

I tried this recipe last summer. It was really good, but it might need another tablespoon of soy sauce. I haven't tasted the real thing, but this was really good. Nice work!

Carol Kerrville Texas
Sep 29, 2008, 22:00

I just love this recipe. I will make it again. Thanks.

Kathy
Aug 20, 2008, 22:00

I don't think this tasted anything like Benihana's. It needs way more soy sauce.

Sherri from Millstone, KY
Dec 25, 2006, 22:00

Love this recipe! A friend told me to add a tablespoon of sesame oil to give it an added boost and it was really good. Thanks for this recipe!

thetopcheff
Sep 8, 2006, 22:00

Yup this recipe is so good but I do add a little touch of garlic to the butter and to make it even better add some frozen bitesize shrimp !! its great!! I also serve it with a couple eggrolls and there is your dinner!!

me
Jul 12, 2006, 22:00

Their's has garlic, ginger and sesame seeds. I use sesame oil and either fresh ginger, if I can find it, or the paste. Do use the powder, spice kind.

Items: 110 of 28, per page