THE ORIGINAL COPYCAT RECIPES WEBSITE

Applebee's Tomato Basil Soup

Back to product details

Score: 4.74. Votes: 38
 
Score: 4.74. Votes: 38
Rating of votes (38)
5
 
 
34 customers
4
 
 
2 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
2 customers
 
Reviews
Items: 110 of 38, per page
Jade
May 28, 2016, 22:00

I've made the recipe as written and tweaked it and both versions are good. This last time I used a small beet* instead of the sugar. Didn't notice much, if any, difference in taste. Bit more healthy then sugar. *diced small, added with the onions and garlic. Make sure to blend the soup thoroughly. I didn't even bother taking the skin off the beet and I didn't notice any differences in texture but your mileage may vary.

Donna
Dec 7, 2015, 22:00

I made this soup yummy. I did not use any sugar. Instead I used 4 carrots (for their sweetness) and diced them and sauted them for 5 minutes along with the onion and garlic before adding the rest of the ingredients.

Jean
Nov 20, 2015, 22:00

I read the other reviews of "too sweet", so I started with 2 T sugar but increased another 2 T to make a full 1/4 cup. Remember it depends on what brand of crushed tomatoes you use on how much sweetness will be needed. A good cook always starts with less and increases! I used Hunts. Well done Todd, you haven't disappointed us yet.

Kelli
Oct 23, 2015, 22:00

Thanks to other reviews, I used much less sugar. I also skipped the pur_e step and it was fabulous!!

Nannette DeBose
Oct 11, 2015, 22:00

This soup is amazing. I made two changes, I used half and half instead of whipping cream to save 400 calories and I used 2 tablespoons of sugar, otherwise too sweet.

Paola
Jun 24, 2015, 22:00

My daughter ONLY likes the tomato soup from Applebee's. I was concerned about the additives and preservatives used in restaurants so I decided to make my own. After trying several tomato soup recipes this one is the winner!! Now she prefers my homemade tomato soup than Applebee's soup ;) I cut down all the ingredients in half (added only 2 tbsp of sugar). Served with garlic breadsticks and cesaer salad!! It was delicious!

Tina
Apr 17, 2015, 22:00

Way too sweet

Kelly
Mar 14, 2015, 22:00

Awesome as is. Next time I will add abit of parmasen cheese.

Diann
Mar 10, 2015, 22:00

I've made this a few times now. LESS sugar is the key to making this soup. And always use fresh herbs if possible. Makes a HUGE difference. My guests always love the added part on time. Enjoy

Heather
Feb 15, 2015, 22:00

we loved this soup!! Added noodles and everyone in the family had seconds. Make it again good!

Items: 110 of 38, per page