The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Taco Bell Mild Border Sauce copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Taco Bell Mild Border Sauce

Score: 4.46 (votes: 13)
 
Rating of votes (13)
5
 
 
10customers
4
 
 
1customers
3
 
 
1customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
1customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
Janet Hayes
Oct 14, 2020, 08:36
This is our go to Taco Sauce. I do add a an extra tsp of corn starch, because we like the sauce a little thicker. I have shared this recipe with everyonce who had tried it and a few who just need a good Taco Sauce.
Edward
Jul 10, 2020, 04:35
This isn’t even remotely close unfortunately. This is basically spicy ketchup. We wanted to
Give it a shot due to the simplicity but it’s neither a copycat recipe nor is it a good taco sauce. Spicy ketchup that’s inedible. Sorry but don’t waste your time trying this. Surprisingly the site won’t sow me to give it one star not keeps changing it back to five. Makes me wonder.
Mark Davis
Jun 14, 2016, 22:00
Never followed a recipe in my life. I did this because it looked so easy. I did everything wrong and it still was great. I could not believe it. Thanks Todd. I am about to make it again and totally trust your directions this time but I thought I would first check out other knock offs. Never mind. They are so complicated!
Danielle
May 17, 2016, 22:00
This recipe is a perfect base to the sauce. I added garlic powder, cumin & paprika. It tasted way more authentic after doing that. Then I think one more little dash of acid - maybe apple cider vinegar and it will be spot on. Oh and I agree that it is way hotter than the mild sauce... Put half the amount of Cayenne would be more mild. I am so excited to eat this with refried bean burritos!
Chef Jeff
Jun 27, 2015, 22:00
As a chef I found this recipe to be spot on with no additions of ingredients needed. I read others comments about adding things like garlic, thyme etc and those items would considerably alter the recipe rather than enhance it unless you plan to use the sauce for other dishes. As for Tacos, those spices should have been used in the taco meat be it beef, pork or chicken.
Russ
May 9, 2015, 22:00
Tried this recipe and it's a keeper. Added garlic and cilentro and it's the best sauce we've tasted!
Bob
Oct 1, 2014, 22:00
I added 1\4th tsp fresh garlic in addition, and it resembled taco bell hot sauce. Add 1\3rd additional can of tomato paste for spot on mild.
lewis
Dec 21, 2013, 22:00
I like the recipe as is, but I made a little change I substitute teaspoon of regular hot sause for the cayenne pepper then add a dash at a time to get the right amount of hot. I also add a teaspoon of Wright's Hickory liquid smoke for a chipotle flair with out the way to hot that I have found in all chipotle I have tried.
teresa
Apr 4, 2013, 22:00
This is good I think its hotter then mild but who cares,, I already had all the ingredients but the tomato paste it cost .45 to make almost a qt jar full of sauce. For tht I say ty!!
Krystal
Mar 8, 2013, 22:00
I also add cumin and garlic powder and cook it slowly for a long time until the ingredients really macerate together to cancel out the tomato flavor. This is awesome.