The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Taco Bell Enchirito (Improved) copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Taco Bell Enchirito (Improved)

Score: 5.00 (votes: 23)
 
Rating of votes (23)
5
 
23customers
4
 
 
0customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
DavidF
Dec 5, 2022, 12:31
Around November of 2022, Taco Bell brought back the Enchirito for a few weeks, but I read about it and didn't pay attention to when it was leaving. Well, I went up to TB to finally have an Enchirito during it's "Come Back". And, guess what? I got there too late; and, the enchirito was "no mas" ... because the promotion had ended. So, I was sad, very sad. But my wife came to my rescue, using Todd's wonderful copycat recipe. After she made it, I could not believe how SPOT ON it was. My wife made three of these for me, and I could not believe how close they were to Taco Bell's recipe. The sauce is almost or exactly like Taco Bell's. That can of La Victoria sauce might be exactly what TB uses; if not, it's so very close. Anyway, my wife asked me how I'd compare them to TB. And, I said that they were 99% the same. But she then asked me about the 1% left-over and what was wrong ... Well, I said that, "It wasn't the exact same because I DID NOT GET JIPPED AND FEEL CHEATED WITH MY PORTION SIZE ..." [he he he] Sorry, I'll never have to worry about Taco Bell and it's Enchirito's again.
Terri
Nov 3, 2022, 13:33
Great recipe- used old El Paso sauce instead and added frozen sweet corn to meat mixture. Fabulous flavor, easy to make and most ingredients were on hand!
Win- win ????
Cindi Overstreet
Oct 25, 2022, 10:33
Nailed it. This is so close that if I didn't know better, I would have thought it was Taco Bell's enchirito on my plate. The red sauce made that dish and the La Victoria sauce nails it here. I've made these a couple times and the first time I used what I had on hand which was a different brand of enchilada sauce, and it was good, but this La Victoria sauce makes it and that is the key to the Taco Bell dupability. It has that flavor and texture. I shredded my cheese extra fine just like it is at the restaurant. I just added the beans into the meat and mixed them together in the pan to heat them. I can make this at home in the same time or faster than driving to a Taco Bell. This time, I made extra so I could have it in the fridge prepped and ready for my next enchirito craving. As a leftover, this is super fast to reheat and assemble, and it's a fresh new meal in minutes once you have the meat/bean mix ready and the cheese shredded.
Kat
Oct 16, 2021, 14:42
OMG!! I never write reviews! Used to love Taco Bell until they got rid of my Favorite item the "Enchirito" I was stuck getting tacos only. I just tried this copycat and it was sooo good and so spot on ... well actually, it was even better!!! Thank You!!!
Andrew
Apr 7, 2020, 14:35
The original used a corn tortilla, not a flour one. They used a flour tortilla on the re-boot. If I recall, this was the *only* item on the menu that used the soft corn tortilla and that was one of the reasons they dropped it.
T Young
Jun 2, 2015, 22:00
My husband is a enchirito lover!! Always orders them when we go to TB. He says he doesn't have to ask them anymore, cause I nailed it with your recipe!!! Thanks
KB
Mar 24, 2015, 22:00
As someone who LOVED enchiritos to a probably unhealthy level, and someone who worked there in the "Good ole days" (mid 80s) I will tell you this recipe is spot on. I saw this recipe 2 days ago and said "I MUST DO THIS...." Thank you so much. Totally hit the spot. Now if I just had some of the old taco sauce..... i think that recipe is here somewhere too, right? hahha
Natalie
Nov 14, 2014, 22:00
EXACTLY like Taco Bell!!!! I'm so excited!
Julie
Nov 7, 2014, 22:00
Delicious, simple, and fast. The texture of the meat is fantastic and I'll use this method from now on whenever I make something calling for seasoned ground beef. Husband is a big fan of the TB enchirito (our TB doesn't have it on the menu but will make it if you just ask!) and really loved it.
Mariam
Jun 30, 2014, 22:00
My son won't miss TB anymore coz now I can make it for him.