The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Soup Nazi's Indian Mulligatawny Soup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Soup Nazi's Indian Mulligatawny Soup

Score: 4.93 (votes: 27)
 
Rating of votes (27)
5
 
 
25customers
4
 
 
2customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
Catherine
May 19, 2007, 22:00
What a wonderful soup! I just made it and wish I would have made a bigger batch because we ate it all up! I only used 1/2 the liquid and used about 4 TBS of my own curry powder (2 parts ground coriender, 1 part cumin, 1/4 part cardemon, 1/4 part tumeric, 1/4 part cayanne and a dash of cinnamon). Only cooked it 2 hours and it was perfect. I pureed about 2 cups of thwe soup and put it back in the pot before serving. I would recommend this recipe to anyone.
Groves_Family_Zoo
Mar 22, 2007, 22:00
Absolutely delicious! Prep time was a bit long, and I actually had to simmer mine for almost 12 hours, but I think that's because I have an electric glasstop stove. I'm definitely investing in a pressure cooker for future soup creations. Everyone that tasted has liked it. I did add a few personal touches though...I added squash, zucchini, green beans, and vegetarian black beans to mine. I also used Italian seasoning instead of the Thyme, and used Garlic powder, salt, and some chili powder. I also used Vegetable broth instead of chicken broth (I'm a vegetarian), Splenda instead of sugar (I'm also diabetic), and soy margarine instead of butter. Just about all the seasoning was almost doubled because of the amount of water that is required to start with and because I used veggie broth instead of chicken broth. Oh, and I added Tofurky breakfast link pieces and soy-based
ChefForSix
Mar 3, 2007, 22:00
I made it exactly as the recipe says (minus the marjoram since I couldn't find it at the store) and it turned out great! Yeah, I had to boil it for about 3 1/2 - 4 hours but it turned out so good. As leftovers, it was even better. By far, the best soup that I have ever made.
SamLowrey
Feb 10, 2007, 22:00
Never tried any version of this before. It turned out well thanks to taking some advice from others who have commented here. I added ONE CUP of water. I see no reason to add a bunch of water just to reduce it unless something requires an inordinate amount of cooking time, which none of this does by my reasoning. Cooked it one hour. Can't imagine cooking it longer, it would all fall apart. Also trippled the curry. Used 4 cups veg. stock and 2 cups chicken. Also, forgot the tomato sauce at the store, so did without that.
jackie
Jan 5, 2007, 22:00
I beg my mom to make it all the time, it's the best.
W2+K
Nov 4, 2006, 22:00
Incredible soup. I make it every fall and it is so satisfying. My favorite soup. I add extra curry and thyme, and sometimes extra tomato sauce. What I love about this soup is that you throw it in the pot and then wait five hours! It is so hearty and the leftovers are even better.
Jeff P.
May 29, 2006, 22:00
Best soup ever. I use a whole eggplant and an equal weight of potatoes so I usually need to double the spices too.
Mary Rice
Mar 12, 2006, 22:00
Fabulous. I use vegetable stock instead of the chicken stock for my vegetarian friends. This soup is so good. It tastes rich, unlike a lot of other vegetable soups, which can be watery and bland. However, I do have to simmer it for a lot longer than the recipe calls for - (it's probably my stove top.) Thank you for this recipe - it's my favorite soup in the world.
Pete
Feb 20, 2006, 22:00
First tried this soup when it hit this site. Never had the original, but I can see what all the fuss is about. It may take some time simmering, but it's by far the best soup I've ever made. Never tried it in a crock pot, but I now have a pressure cooker and am dying to try it in there to speed up the process because it's so hard to wait for the finished product in the stovetop. A must try recipe!
jinksy
Feb 19, 2006, 22:00
Anyone who says this soup is bland has made a vital mistake- not simmering it for long enough. As the recipe states you must wait until the soup has reduced its liquid by 50%. This takes hours. Probably more suited to the presure cooker owner than anything. Best soup ever!