The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Skyline Chili copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Skyline Chili

Score: 4.60 (votes: 10)
 
Rating of votes (10)
5
 
 
7customers
4
 
 
2customers
3
 
 
1customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
mark slaw
Aug 2, 2022, 13:58
It ain't Skyline, but it is good. How did you miss the "dehydrated onion" on the label? Also, cinnamon is the defining ingredient in Skyline Chili, and really, most Cincinnati chili and it's absent in this recipe. Like I said, this is good chili. It just ain't Skyline.
Tony Curtis
Mar 12, 2022, 11:19
I tried another recipe in the past with cloves, chocolate and Worcestershire sauce. It was gross. Although I have never been to Skyline in Cincinnati and had their chili I can say this chili is excellent!
Kevin Sullivan
Jan 14, 2022, 15:37
I need to preface this by saying that, as someone - much like a lot of the other reviewers here - who grew up eating Skyline/Gold Star/etc. chili - this is by far and away the best recipe for it I have found online anywhere. In fact, it's even better than most of those non-brand ingredient packets (the ones at Kroger that just say "Cincinnati Chili" on them), and those are still really tasty. However, this one - at least the way it's turned out for me the last few times I've cooked it - really comes out a lot spicier than I'm used to. I know I'm following the recipe to the letter and - don't get me wrong - it's still *awesome.* But I feel like there's either too much spice in it or I've been reading it wrong. Next time I make it, I'll add less of the chili powder and see if that helps. All that being said, this is still the best way I've had Skyline Chili at home without anything with packaging that said "Skyline" on it.
Penny Visconti
Nov 14, 2021, 15:28
You nailed it! Hubby says it is better than Skyline!! Glad I doubled it...
Valerie Durham
Jan 29, 2021, 14:12
Meh. I am usually one of Todd’s biggest fans, but I was not impressed with this recipe. It wasn’t so bad that I couldn’t eat it, but it didn’t turn out like Skyline chili, either. I don’t know if I could just taste the cardamom, but this is not a recipe I will try again. Back to the packets for now. I must say, Cincinnati chili has to be the most difficult recipe to duplicate, because I’ve tried at least 10 recipes and have never found a recipe that I like!
Donnie D
Mar 12, 2019, 17:21
I live in Michigan and never had Skyline chili before making it myself from this recipe. The only thing I ever changed was to let it simmer longer so I could put it on hotdogs. I was able to buy a can of the real thing and I actually didn't like it as much as the clone I was used to. Thanks again, Todd!
Brad
Nov 11, 2018, 06:48
Needs oregano, and less grease.
lilmagnolia
Jul 22, 2011, 22:00
I grew up on skyline and goldstar chili as a child. I moved away from the area years ago and experimented with recipes but nothing came close. I found this one a while back and made a few changes (we use low sodium chicken broth and ground turkey). The kids that come over love it so I always keep some in the freezer. In fact if we've got kids over and there is none in the freezer, they'll just make a pot themselves!
Jim
Aug 24, 2006, 22:00
While I agree with Patrick that there was too much corn starch, overall I like this chile recipe better than the original. By using freshly ground spices, reduced fat hamburger, and way less salt...you end up with a fantastic Cincinnati chili to use over spaghetti with all the fixings that go with it. Your recipe may not be exactly the same as Skyline Chile, but I'll live longer.
Patrick Crabtree
Jan 20, 2006, 22:00
Well, Todd, you're on the right track but you're not quite there yet, my friend. One missed detail is your cooking time -- waaaay too short. Skyline has to go for at least five hours at a simmer. And you've got just a tad too much cornstarch in there too. And some ingredients are definitely missing. But you are right that there's no chocolate in Skyline chili. I've made 100 or more Cincinnati (Greek) Chili recipes and your Skyline version is down about number 7 or so on my list (which is pretty good!). But you did give me a couple of ideas and I can use what you gave me with this recipe and combine it with my own to perfect the end product.

Final analysis? Close, but no cigar!