The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Maid-Rite Loose Meat Sandwich copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Maid-Rite Loose Meat Sandwich

Score: 4.39 (votes: 54)
 
Rating of votes (54)
5
 
 
35customers
4
 
 
9customers
3
 
 
7customers
2
 
 
2customers
1
 
 
1customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
Gordon, San Antonio
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00
I sure was glad to see this recipe. After being gone from the midwest for a lot of years, Maid-Rite sandwiches have been sorely missed.

I will try this recipe, but just reading it makes me salivate!!
JR
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00
Kathy "One Star", please do not rate a recipe if you haven't even tried it. If you had, you may know what "all the hoopla" is about.
Karen
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00
I have lived where the Maid-Rite has been for years in the same family and they do grind the meat in the basement. They do not add Coke nor do they serve them with Ketchup. Onion, mustard and pickle and no french fries.
kathy
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00
My neighbor worked at a local Maid-Rite in Iowa in the 70's. Back then, they used Coke syrup from a jug (which can be found in small bottles at most pharmacies near the Pepto Bysmol - it soothes an upset stomach) and chicken broth. These days, Maid-Rites use a powderized form of all the seasonings. You can use any thing sweet and something salty. Any flat soda will do. Thats it!!
Shannon
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00
I am familiar with this recipe. I was manager at a Nu-Way store in Kansas City for 3 years. They were started around the same time as Maid-Rite in Witchita Kansas. We used only 85/15 meat also. We cooked it in a cast iron cooker using a large masher. As the meat cooked we added water to it. The steam would get all the bits from the bottom of the pan. We kept our buns in a steamer to make them moist. All we did when we scooped the meat up was add a dash of salt. We would use Mustard, Onion, and Pickle as the standard dress. People would order the sandwhich Dry, Greasy, or normal. For the dry you just squeeze out the juices. For the wet you just stir the meat in with the juice. Our cooker was on an angle with the deepest end to the back. As the orders came in we would scooop the meat from the back of the cooker and then put in on the bun. We would also drain any excess grease before we served.
shatayeshia
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00
Sounds nasty, but when I tried it (because i like to try new things), it was wonderful. I also tried it with Tish's revisions. Both editions are wonderful. I never tasted the real thing, but my children and i enjoyed both fakes!
Steve
Sep 14, 2005, 22:00
The recipe I have is with chicken broth instead of beef broth...

But the idea is still the same.

The chicken broth is a favorite of my family and friends!
carol s.
Sep 13, 2005, 22:00
I thought it was great, although I used more beef broth then water. Wish I could get the coke syrup. I remember at the maid rite shop here in town eating these often and saw the mysterious black (stuff) they added.
D.C.
Sep 13, 2005, 22:00
I haven't tested your recipe yet, but I work for a local Maid-Rite restaurant! - They tell me that they quit using salt some time ago. Their "recipe" uses water (nothing about broth) and the only spice is 2 parts sugar to 1 part pepper!
janet and al
Sep 13, 2005, 22:00
we like this recipe with 1/2 pkg of onion soup mix and less water, then put thin slices of raw vadalia or red onions on top with the dill pickles. Also a slice of tomato is good too.