The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
KFC Original Recipe Fried Chicken copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of KFC (Kentucky Fried Chicken) Original Recipe Fried Chicken

Score: 4.71 (votes: 17)
 
Rating of votes (17)
5
 
 
14customers
4
 
 
2customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
1customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
The KGB
Jun 5, 2022, 09:38
I feel like such a criminal, having such an accurate rendition of the Colonel's recipe in my possession.
Brian Pettera
May 25, 2022, 06:20
I tried the recipe and it was great! The only thing off was the tenderness of the battered skin. Normal KFC isn't crispy. I solved this by putting it on a rack for 5 minutes to cool and then placing it in a gallon-sized ziplock bag to steam....that made it perfect!
luke
Aug 24, 2021, 20:23
Although this might be close to the real Col Saunders, I don't think KFC uses it for decades. Back in the early 90s I got my hands on a KFC seasoning packet. It was like a 1lb packet mix with like 20 lbs flour. I don't remember exactly. I remember the ingredients simply stated salt, MSG, and white pepper. Nothing else. I carefully sifted through it. It was just white crystals with speckles of black like pepper. There were no other colors or particles like green, red, or yellow to indicate any other herbs were included. Just black and white. Just FYI folks
Michele
Jul 13, 2021, 16:01
I would give this 5 stars; however, it's very salty. I can't tell if the brine did it or if it was the coating. I'm going to cut back the salt in the brine and coating next time around. MSG is very salty on its own. This recipe is the closest to tasting like KFC that I've eaten.
Claudia Cox
Nov 28, 2020, 13:41
Really, really strong recipe - subbed ginger for a small amount of allspice because I didn't have the former to hand. It's superb, as close to KFC as you could reasonably get. For those of you low carbin' it, this also works out great if you swap regular flour for a 50/50 mix of lupin flour and unflavoured whey protein powder.
ANTHONY GIBSON
Nov 17, 2020, 12:37
Amazing chicken. Followed directions to the letter but substituted SAVORY with THYME. Used a temp gun to measure oil temp. I was frying chicken for years at the wrong temp and would end up with crunch on the outside and uncooked on the inside. Thank you Todd.
Joshua Riffell
Nov 12, 2020, 07:18
I made this chicken and was delicious. The brine is definitely what makes the chicken but I don't think the skin was that close, however we will be making this a lot. It superseded our expectations. We will be ranting and raving about this for quite some time
Tim Miller
Nov 16, 2019, 08:42
I made this recipe and mixed in real KFC and nobody could tell the difference in looks or taste.
Greg Kalchik
Mar 4, 2019, 16:27
I worked at KFC many years ago and ate a lot of this chicken. I made this recipe not long ago and it tasted very very close to the actual KFC chicken. I used a Foodsaver marinade container and only needed to marinade for about a half an hour.
Liz McGrath
Nov 19, 2011, 22:00
My husband used this recipe and our daughter and I were STUNNED!!! This is SO close to perfect! We will definitely make it again...absolutely delicious!!!