The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Hostess Twinkie Creme Filling copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Hostess Twinkie Creme Filling

Score: 3.91 (votes: 23)
 
Rating of votes (23)
5
 
 
13customers
4
 
 
3customers
3
 
 
2customers
2
 
 
2customers
1
 
 
3customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
Mina Walker
Jul 13, 2021, 10:15
It's perfect! I found the filling to be even better the next day (whilst inside the cupcakes i made)
Nadine
Apr 23, 2020, 11:51
If I could give it 0 I would. I absolutely hate marshmallow fluff. After reading reviews, I thought that somehow mixing with other ingredients would alter the taste and texture. NOPE. Doesn't in any way resemble Twinkie filling. Not taste, not texture. It is not fluffy. It just tastes like fluff. BTW - I followed directions exactly. Had my grandaughter taste (she was not present when I made it). She asked why I whipped up marshmallow fluff "seems like a waste of time". There you have it, it just tastes like salted fluff!!!
P. S.
Nov 19, 2017, 11:33
This is the closest you can get to the original Twinkie filling. Thank you!
Joanie
May 17, 2016, 22:00
I've been searching and searching for the perfect cream filling for my chocolate cupcake fettish and while many of them tasted great the consistency was never cohesive with the Hostess style we've all come to love and this one is actually the closest :) I used pink salt, it has a bit less of the iodine flavor you get in salt, and I used about a quarter less than the recipe recommended. I've jazzed it up by adding different extracts or adding fresh citrus zest to it.
sheila jack
Apr 2, 2015, 22:00
I have used this recipe for a very long time. Alone
Ken N
Mar 4, 2015, 22:00
Use Kosher Salt, and after all ingredients from this recipe are all mixed, add Xanthan Gum (from Whole Foods or similar) in 1/2tsp increments until you get the thick consistency you want. Xanthan Gum is NOT to be cooked at all, just mix in with mixer
mckeylu
Oct 30, 2014, 22:00
This recipe turns out just as good as the "real" thing I have made it many times if you do not beat the marshmallow, shortening mixture long enough it blows the whole recipe I also use my tablespoon measure to add the salt water mixture to the fluff surprisingly sometimes there is extra this is one of those trial and error recipes but it's worth it when you get it right!
Sue
Sep 11, 2014, 22:00
This has become a family favorite. For all the birthdays I have to make the cupcakes with this filling. We all love it!!
R M
Aug 25, 2014, 22:00
This is what I have been searching for for one week. I could feel the consistency on my tongue from when I was younger and ate Creme Horns. I tried the fillings with butter (yuk!) and then I found this. It has that slightly greasy feel (perfect). Thank you thank you!
Joe
Aug 2, 2014, 22:00
This recipe is nothing like twinkie filling in taste or consistency.