The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Hellmann's - Best Foods Mayonnaise copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Hellmann's - Best Foods Mayonnaise

Score: 4.82 (votes: 44)
 
Rating of votes (44)
5
 
 
40customers
4
 
 
2customers
3
 
 
1customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
1customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
JLNegron
Jun 23, 2022, 14:27
I made this yesterday and it's delicious. I love the old recipe of Hellman's/Best Foods and this reminds me of it, definitely. Thanks for posting it. I have to use this recipe as my only mayonnaise from now on due to a soy allergy. I appreciate your hard work in developing it and sharing it. Cheers! ~ j
Deede
Apr 18, 2022, 11:27
Fantastic texture and flavor. I will increase the lemon and sugar next time. So much better than store bought, but a lot of work manually ( was worth it).
Latinzest
Jul 15, 2021, 02:37
I've done homemade mayonnaise before, however this is the best one I have ever tried. I am doing healthy keto and this is my low carb condiment of choice. I made one batch today, next time I will try with mustard or garlic. Delicioso! Thank you!
Karen Runnels
Jun 25, 2021, 21:09
I added one whole egg to the one egg yolk & used 1/2 cup extra light olive oil & 1/2 cup avocado oil. I used an immersion blender to dissolve the sugar & salt in the vinegar/water/lemon juice/sugar/salt mixture before adding half the mixture to the eggs. I also did not whisk by hand, but used a regular blender. After blending the eggs & vinegar mix & with the blender running on low speed, add the oil in the thinnest stream you can manage to pour. Pouring the oil in a super thin stream is the secret to emulsifying the eggs & oil, resulting in a thick, creamy mayo. Great recipe that tastes like Hellman's!!
Mickey Schneider
Jan 31, 2021, 14:06
I can’t believe I’m actually looking at the Hellmann’s recipe!!! My family has been strictly a Hellmann’s only family forever. During the crash of 1929 , even tho it cost a bit more than the other “brand”, they only bought Hellmann’s !! I was thrilled to be able to actually purchase Best Foods recently so I could have both ( empty) bottles! Lol! Now you say they are not identical...hhhmmm... I see a tasting party coming up soon: Hellmann’s, Best Foods & homemade clone!! Will let you know how it comes out!! ????
Alfonso Fabrizio
Jan 10, 2019, 09:19
This is a nice mayonnaise, but I found it wanting more tang (a lot more). It was kind of bland. What I love about Hellman's is that tanginess of it. I added both extra lemon juice and vinegar, but I don't think I got quite there (I'm anxious about adding too much and ruining it). By the way, doubling up all of the ingredients makes it a lot easier to measure.
Vickey Alford
Apr 22, 2018, 16:08
I have been making homemade mayonnaise for many years, this recipe was the closest to store bought I have found. Because I only eat healthy these are the changes I made:
First off I doubled the recipe. Measurements were the same but I used free range organic eggs, raw apple cider vinegar, Kangen water, Himalayan sea salt, organic coconut sugar, fresh squeezed organic lemon juice, 1 1/4 cup Chosen Foods avocado oil, 3/4 cup organic coconut oil.
Put all ingredients EXCEPT OIL in my vitamix blender, on lowest speed I blended for 3 minutes, then I turned it up to #8 speed and slowly poured in oil. Perfection!
Lupita
Jun 5, 2016, 22:00
I did it. It cones out perfectly well. Delicious. I had all ingredients so I decided to do it because I had run out of mayo. I will definitely switch to this one.
Angie
Jun 1, 2016, 22:00
I have been trying different recipes but nothing ever tasted quite right. This morning we discovered we only had a tiny bit of Hellman's left about a quarter of a cup. So I thought I would give it a try. I used the only thing I had veggie oil and it tastes fantastic we doubled the recipe and then added the remaining Hellman's from our jar now I have a full jar for another week of sandwiches. Thank you so much
G Gal
Dec 17, 2015, 22:00
I made this in my food processor, using a whole egg and added about a tsp of yellow mustard. It is delicious and thick and creamy.