The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Fritos Hot Bean Dip copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Fritos Hot Bean Dip

Score: 4.14 (votes: 22)
 
Rating of votes (22)
5
 
 
13customers
4
 
 
4customers
3
 
 
2customers
2
 
 
1customers
1
 
 
2customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
luke
Jul 8, 2022, 19:37
The ingredients and amounts work except for the canned refried beans. The end result ends up with a powdery taste that doesn't blend well with the canned beans. wants to burn. Nothing like real Frito bean dip. I cook the beans (2cups) from scratch and cook in dry ingredients near end with liquid remaining. Also ad aTBSP of oil or lard. Near the end mix in 2Tsp of maltodextrin powder, jalapeƱos and juice. The maltodextrin is a thickener and makes a gravy. Let cool then grind up in food processor. The maltodextrin gives it the proper thick consistency and is on the Frito ingredient list. Read it. Maltodextrin is readily available on Amazon for cheap considering a small amount goes a long way. And useful in many other recipes.
twocan
Nov 27, 2015, 22:00
I was at the store and realized I didnt want to spend the money. Thank goodness for google. I love it!
tim
Mar 12, 2014, 22:00
Made just like recipe says, only added 2nd tablespoon of jalapeƱo juice. Way good. Thank you!
Pam
Mar 1, 2013, 22:00
It was good. But just like many others said---it was just too salty. Easy fix on that! Just leave it out or add only a dash. :-) Next time I am going to try to make it with Black Beans like their black bean variety. Thanks!
Jerry
Apr 28, 2012, 22:00
I left out the salt, used 16oz can of fat free re-fried beans and added 1 tsp of Cains chili powder. It should be refrigerated overnight for the flavors to meld together.

Came out awesome!
Sharon
Aug 26, 2009, 22:00
This recipe is fantastic! My Hubby was hooked on the Fritos bean dip in the can, but this is way more economical, and he thinks it tastes exactly the same. When you make Todds' recipes, be sure you are using quality fresh spices and such, it makes a huge difference. And also, the corn of the Fritos and the beans make a complete protein, great for a lunch too.
Rhonda Gazaway
Mar 3, 2009, 22:00
I really like this recipe, but I added some taco seasoning and it made it better...
Anonymous
Dec 15, 2008, 22:00
Made this a second time, this time according to recipe. It is almost dead on with the real thing. I would cut down on the salt because the peppers, liquid, and beans already have enough added salt. After that, it is just a matter of tweaking the spices to get the tast right.
Stani
Jul 10, 2008, 22:00
Amazing, this is the first recipe that tastes exactly like the product! i did use refried beans, they seemed easier and were available.
Linal
Nov 27, 2007, 22:00
Very good and fast. No need for refried (fatty) beans with this recipe. I never tasted the real thing but this is a keeper on it's own!