The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Chipotle Mexican Grill Barbacoa Burrito copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Chipotle Mexican Grill Barbacoa Burrito

Score: 4.78 (votes: 18)
 
Rating of votes (18)
5
 
 
14customers
4
 
 
4customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
JohnC
Jul 8, 2008, 22:00
Perfect! I love the barbacoa at Chipotle, but all of the internet recipes were bogus (or for authentic Mexican barbacoa, which is a completely different thing). Now I don't have to pay $1.50 for a couple of extra shreds of beef -- I just pile it on! Nice touch to add the other recipes! (But could you figure out how to make their hot tomatilla sauce -- I'm stuck.)
JP
Mar 26, 2008, 22:00
Glad to have found this recipe because we just moved to a town with no Chipotle restaurant. I've made the recipe twice and it was awsome both times. Last time I cooked it in the crockpot overnight - 8 hours on low. The meat was very tender and shredded easily. This will become a regular meal in our house!! Thanks for all your efforts Todd!
mxgrl
Feb 2, 2008, 22:00
Mmmmmm.... deeeee-licious! Thanks to your outstanding recipe, my husband now thinks I am a true kitchen goddess! So easy...and so, so, so yummy! Thanks so much, Todd! You ROCK...always! :D
lucyjo
Aug 29, 2007, 22:00
This is so great!!!! I used a crockpot to cook it in....great time saver....just leave to cook for the day on med-high setting.
Tina
Aug 8, 2007, 22:00
LOVE IT!!!!! GREAT JOB!!!! I tried it with pork and it was fabulous!!!!
DW
Jul 29, 2007, 22:00
This recipe was awesome! Our two teenaged sons devoured the burritos and argued about who could have the leftovers. I used a rice cooker then mixed the butter, salt, lime and cilantro into the cooked rice - it was great. Otherwise, I followed the directions exactly but found it only took a bit over 3 hours for the meat to shred.
JW
Jul 8, 2007, 22:00
Fabulous and flavorful! With the adobo sauce and cilantro rice (which would make a great side dish), it's a good Chipotle clone. I couldn't find any chipotles, so I roasted jalapenos instead. The yield of 8 large burritos was about 16 for my guests, so invite a crowd, eat hearty, and enjoy!
Sue in OH
Jul 3, 2007, 22:00
This was wonderful, my family loved it. It took a long time, but I made it ahead and we had it around for quick meal, just some meat and cheese on a tortilla. My husband says it tastes like the real thing.