The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Chipotle Mexican Grill Barbacoa Burrito copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Chipotle Mexican Grill Barbacoa Burrito

Score: 4.78 (votes: 18)
 
Rating of votes (18)
5
 
 
14customers
4
 
 
4customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
Crystal
Mar 30, 2022, 11:37
I decided to use my Ninja Foodi to speed up the process. I browned the meat using the sear function, then pressure cooked for 1 hour. I reduced the sauce while shredding the meat, then put it all together. So good!!!!
Heidi Hintz
Aug 30, 2015, 22:00
I love your recipes Todd! We make this all the time. I tweak the rice a little: add 1 bay leaf to the rice during cooking. Discard when fluffing rice. I also add 2x as much lime juice (caviat: I do use bottled juice). The bay leaf really adds a mysterious "something" that the recipe was lacking. Keep up the good work, can't wait for your next book!
Ben Lipinski
Mar 23, 2014, 22:00
Well worth the time but is a little on the pricy side to get ingredients if you don't have all the things needed....however, is very very close and just as good as the real thing. I fed 5 people dinner with this recipe and had one for lunch the next day and still have enough for at least 6-7 more burritos. Going to freeze it for later. Well done Todd.....this is a keeper!
Amber M
Feb 8, 2014, 22:00
This recipe does take more time than most to make, but well worth it. I think it taste very much like Chipotle's barbacoa. You won't be disappointed! Not to mention, it makes a lot of food, so you can be eating on this for days or freeze some for later.
Lytorre Vidaurri
Jul 19, 2013, 22:00
This is delicious, but it doesn't taste like Chipotle's barbacoa (which isn't a bad thing). My family gobbled it up. I made my own beans (sorry, beans, bacon fat and Mexican oregano does not make Mexican beans---this coming from someone married to a Mexican-American for more than a decade!). Anyhow, this will definitely become a staple in my home. However, when I want Chipotle barbacoa I'll go to Chipotle. Thanks for the great recipe.
Alice Hathcoat
Jul 10, 2013, 22:00
I found the clove was a little heave and I think it cooked a little too long but other than that the flavor was nearly spot on in my book.
JH
Nov 11, 2011, 22:00
This recipe is good but it does not taste like Chipotle's barbacoa. With a couple of minor tweaks, it comes fairly close:



1. Reduce vinegar to 1/4 cup. The goal is to not taste the vinegar once barbacoa has finished cooking.

2. Reduce cloves to 1/4 tsp.

3. Salt the roast with kosher or sea salt and let sit at room temperature for about an hour before searing.
CALI
Jul 16, 2011, 22:00
Excellent recipe. For those who want a less spicier beef batch, use two parts roasted red peppers (in a jar) and one part spicy peppers instead. I prefer the chicken broth over beef broth because that adds a unique flavor that totally blends well.
john h
Jun 4, 2009, 22:00
Very good, I used beef broth instead of chicken broth and a little less cumin seeds. We make it ones every couple of weeks, it goes fast!!!!!
MegWY
Dec 9, 2008, 22:00
I FLIPPING LOVE IT!!!! I live in WY and there is NO Chipotle in the town I live in! Its just SSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOO YUMMY! I love it!