The #1 Copycat Recipes Website
Applebee's Tomato Basil Soup copycat recipe by Todd Wilbur

Ratings and Reviews of Applebee's Tomato Basil Soup

Score: 4.74 (votes: 38)
 
Rating of votes (38)
5
 
 
34customers
4
 
 
2customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
2customers
 
Back to product details
Reviews
Jade
May 28, 2016, 22:00
I've made the recipe as written and tweaked it and both versions are good. This last time I used a small beet* instead of the sugar. Didn't notice much, if any, difference in taste. Bit more healthy than sugar.
Donna
Dec 7, 2015, 22:00
I made this soup yummy. I did not use any sugar. Instead I used 4 carrots (for their sweetness) and diced them and sauted them for 5 minutes along with the onion and garlic before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Jean
Nov 20, 2015, 22:00
I read the other reviews of "too sweet", so I started with 2 T sugar but increased another 2 T to make a full 1/4 cup. Remember it depends on what brand of crushed tomatoes you use on how much sweetness will be needed. A good cook always starts with less and increases! I used Hunts. Well done Todd, you haven't disappointed us yet.
Kelli
Oct 23, 2015, 22:00
Thanks to other reviews, I used much less sugar. I also skipped the puree step and it was fabulous!!
Nannette DeBose
Oct 11, 2015, 22:00
This soup is amazing. I made two changes, I used half and half instead of whipping cream to save 400 calories and I used 2 tablespoons of sugar, otherwise too sweet.
Paola
Jun 24, 2015, 22:00
My daughter ONLY likes the tomato soup from Applebee's. I was concerned about the additives and preservatives used in restaurants, so I decided to make my own. After trying several tomato soup recipes, this one is the winner!! Now she prefers my homemade tomato soup than Applebee's soup ;)
Tina
Apr 17, 2015, 22:00
Way too sweet
Kelly
Mar 14, 2015, 22:00
Awesome as is. Next time I will add abit of parmasen cheese.
Diann
Mar 10, 2015, 22:00
I've made this a few times now. LESS sugar is the key to making this soup. And always use fresh herbs if possible. Makes a HUGE difference. My guests always love the added part on time. Enjoy
Heather
Feb 15, 2015, 22:00
We loved this soup!! Added noodles and everyone in the family had seconds. I'll make it again!